Anonymous

24 May

I imagine he would inquire about the difference in flavor between bok choy and cabbage.
 
Knowing the answer — the difference lying in texture, preparation and presentation more than flavor — he’d use the question as an introduction and not as a test. His hand settles decisively on the bok choy. Ah, a risk taker.
 
I study him. He looks to be a man versed in vegetables: lean and fierce, with an artistic air that is less calculated than natural. He is handsome, yes, but not obviously so. Distinguished, certainly. He could lead a conversation about gardening that would leave one’s thighs quaking for the moistness of dirt.
 
I follow him. He lingers at the ginger root, fingers it, and glances at me.
 
No, not so quiet, this man.
 
What if I were to write a hotel name on my deli receipt and slip it in his pocket, pausing to make my presence known? Would he be there, in the lobby? Would I?
 
Leading him through the patterned hallway, acutely aware of his eyes on my hips, we’d stop at a discreet door marked for our indiscretion.
 
The room is anonymous and so are we. I could be anyone, and am. To me, he is a father, a brother, home from a business trip where he discussed the next big thing in environmental activism. His refrigerator is empty, his cat hungry, his bathroom sink clean. I don’t know what I am to him, but he is here.
 
I place my hands on the bed, lock my elbows. My open mouth discovers the flesh of arm and breathes against it, a self-soothing kiss.
 
In a move more carnivorous than expected, he circles me. He is weighing options, calculating again, about to ask a question.
 
What is the difference between pain and pleasure?
 
He’d know the answer lies more in the similarities than the differences — the delivery, the receipt, the moans. He’d know that his belt holds the answers. It is contained within the 38″ of leather; it is also what twitches beneath.
 
He takes that leather in his hands then, unfolds it from his waist, clear in his decision. This is what I want. This is why I bend.
 
With a gentle ferocity, my dress is raised, my panties readjusted, and he begins without preamble.
 
I am dirty. I am reckless. I am the girl who slips invitations into strange men’s pockets.
 
My unasked question hangs in the air, What is the difference between danger and desire?

24 Responses to “Anonymous”

  1. april reign May 24, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

    What is the difference between danger and desire?
    I depends on whether he bought the ginger root or not. Hopefully, he did 😉

  2. Erica May 24, 2011 at 11:57 pm #

    Oh dear God. How hot is this?? I’m ready to take up smoking just so I can have a cigarette.

    • Barely Pink May 25, 2011 at 12:05 am #

      Warning: this post may be dangerous to your health?

      Haha, thanks, Erica!

  3. D May 25, 2011 at 12:09 am #

    The difference between danger and desire: desire is when you go through the unmarked door. Danger is when you don’t close it.

  4. Ronniesoul May 25, 2011 at 5:25 am #

    Yes I think ‘this post may be dangerous to your health’ should have been your title Pink.

    Hot indeed.

    Love,
    Ronnie
    xx

    • Barely Pink May 25, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

      Thanks, Ronnie! Who among us has not entertained a grocery store fantasy?

      Hugs,

      Pink

  5. wordsmith May 25, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    …and I only get funny looks when I hang around the vegetable counter. I’m lean, but definitely not fierce – that must be the problem. I’ll practice my mean scowl…hmmm you’re not so green as cabbage-looking Pink! Think I’m on to something here, thanks! 🙂

    • Barely Pink May 25, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

      Oh…I like it! Seriously, though, grocery stores are a perfect place to assess people. Kitchen aisles, belts… vegetables. It all works!

  6. Cruel May 25, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    Pink, Danger is what inflames the desire. The unknown… the possibilities, the anticipation. I will remember to handle the Bok Choy with a more determined hand and the ginger with the certainty of knowing what I want.

    • Barely Pink May 25, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

      Oh yes, to me they certainly go hand-in-hand.

      I cannot look at ginger without blushing.

  7. dd May 25, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

    Oh my, Pink, your grocery stores must be hotter than mine!

    I’m normally steering around tantrumming toddlers and helping out little old ladies who have forgotten where the cocoa powder is.

    And BBH wonders why I order on-line!

    • Barely Pink May 26, 2011 at 12:40 am #

      Yeah…it sounds like a different shopping experience than this one. But if you notice a man lingering by the ginger or the bok choy, let your imagination loose. 😉

  8. Michael May 26, 2011 at 6:40 am #

    “What is the difference between pain and pleasure?”

    “He’d know the answer lies more in the similarities than the differences”

    So true! What wise words, Pink. You should have them engraved and sent to every spankoholic. I like to think I know, and I demonstrate to Season every time we are together.

    “What is the difference between danger and desire?”

    Very little as it is a fine line walked with care but also with abandon. Fueled with nerve tingling emotion firing and sparking white hot heat. It is both the light and the dark, the warmth and the cool, the fun and the frightening. We know it, we fear it, we embrace it. it is as old as humankind and as new as the next person becoming aware. It is innate and it is learned. It is fiery passion and it is composed judgement. It is what it is just as we are what we are.

    • Barely Pink May 26, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

      Michael, beautifully said. So often, in what we do, desire comes with an element of (perceived) danger and magnifies every sense.

      I’m certain that you demonstrate all of this with aplomb to the fortunate Season. 🙂

      • Michael May 27, 2011 at 7:35 am #

        I am the fortunate one when it comes to my Season just as D is the fortunate one when it comes to you, Miss Pink.

      • Season May 27, 2011 at 9:20 am #

        This post is squirmalicious, Pink! I love dancing with Michael on that razor thin edge between danger and desire. I do feel very fortunate! 😀

      • Barely Pink May 27, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

        Raise a glass to four fortunate people! (And enjoy your weekend!)

  9. crankyspanker May 26, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    I don’t know about dirty or reckless but absolutely inspiring! I have to spend more time in the produce section.

    Hugs

    Emanuele

    • Barely Pink May 26, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

      It’s my favorite place to kill time and dream.

      Hi, Emanuele!

  10. Michael May 27, 2011 at 7:33 am #

    Pink, congratulations on not only this post being Chrossed but also a post from The Pink Papers being Chrossed. This is when being double-Chrossed is a good thing. 🙂

    • Barely Pink May 27, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

      Yes…whenever I hear that someone was double-crossed, I now immediately think, “wow, lucky.” 😉 He’s changing the English language one post at a time.

      Thanks Michael! And congrats to you & Season & Dave, too!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Stranger, With Ginger -- Figging.com - June 12, 2011

    […] Pink gets a lot out of a chance meeting with an anonymous stranger over the bok choy in the produce section: His hand settles decisively on the bok choy. Ah, a risk […]

Leave a comment