Eenie, meeny, miny, moe…is my coworker a spanko?

25 Jul

“Hey, brat.”
 
It was the coworker who said this — the coworker who I pegged as a Dominant based solely on a few exchanged pleasantries.
 
Being called a brat in a professional setting, when I had done nothing (had I?) to warrant such a label, was…curious. What made him call me a brat? Why that word? Does he know about me?
 
Or is “brat” like a schoolgirl uniform, a red herring, in that even vanillas can employ the use of it on an adult woman?
 
I’m sure I blushed. Almost positive. I know that I responded with a cheeky, “Good afternoon, Sir,” to which he was quite pleased. Definitely pleased.
 
Because my spankdar is notoriously off — tending to believe that any attractive male with nice hands is “one of us” — I pose this question to you:
 
Given that I have never displayed an outwardly bratty behavior in the workplace, is he a member of the club?
 

55 Responses to “Eenie, meeny, miny, moe…is my coworker a spanko?”

  1. C July 25, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

    I have been walking around thinking everyone and anyone is into spanking. Seriously, everyone.

  2. Gern Blandershphelt July 25, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    I think the same thing about quite a few of my friends. Of course, it’s hard not to think that after I see the “he” in the relationship smack the “she” squarely on the behind. 😉

  3. steve July 25, 2011 at 10:59 pm #

    unfortunately most people aren’t into it. Your fellow employee may be what I call an unrealised spanker. He/She shows all of the dominate personality traits may even fantasize about it but doesn’t do it. Unless he comes right out and fesses up I would adopt a don’t ask don’t tell attitude. But in the meantime enjoy your spank bank. Pun intended.

    • Barely Pink July 25, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

      Yes, a “don’t ask, don’t tell” attitude is definitely safer for the workplace. Imagine that conversation at the water cooler, “The new girl likes to be spanked.” Eh…no thanks!

  4. Dioneo July 25, 2011 at 11:16 pm #

    I’m going to apply Occam’s razor here and say no, it must be explained by the fact that you are indeed a brat, pure and simple. 😉

    • Barely Pink July 25, 2011 at 11:17 pm #

      I am, huh?

      I’m not sticking my tongue out at you, though.

  5. Lea July 25, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

    I’d agree that it’s an unusual choice of words on his part. I don’t know any vanilla people who talk like that. You never know, but probably not. Life just isn’t that interesting.

    • Barely Pink July 25, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

      *Sigh*

      I know. But the world is so much brighter with the possibility, isn’t it?

  6. Erica July 26, 2011 at 12:40 am #

    (giggling) How delicious. I love it when stuff like this happens.

    I chose “maybe.” Who the heck knows with people… my spankdar is pathetic.

    • Barely Pink July 26, 2011 at 9:25 am #

      Mine, too. Absolutely pathetic. Nice forearms? Must be a spanko. 😛

  7. wordsmith July 26, 2011 at 2:16 am #

    I chose “No”. And stop wearing school uniforms to work, it’s distracting.

    • Barely Pink July 26, 2011 at 9:25 am #

      Today was my French Maid uniform. Is that better? (I did leave the duster at home.)

  8. Karl Friedrich Gauss July 26, 2011 at 8:05 am #

    The effect may be due to your own reality distortion field, Pink.

    Then again, maybe he really IS a spanko.

    Wait for his next exploratory probe to gain further intelligence on the subject.

    Cute photo by the way.

    • Veronica July 26, 2011 at 9:11 am #

      Next time you make a slight error at work let him know by saying, “I did a naughty thing” or “please don’t spank me but I messed up” and see what reaction you get. They are so many subtle ways to find out. xoxo

      • Barely Pink July 26, 2011 at 9:28 am #

        Oh…”I did a naughty thing…”

        I like it. My, you are a flirt, aren’t you Veronica? 😉

        XX

    • Barely Pink July 26, 2011 at 9:27 am #

      Reality distortion? You make a valid point. I see most things through pink-colored glasses these days.

      I dig that photo, too. I’ve had it in my files for awhile, waiting for proper use. My coworker, btw, is less skeezy and has not grabbed my butt.

  9. D July 26, 2011 at 10:32 am #

    My vote is definitely a Spanko. “Brat” is used by vanilla types when referring to children, not adults. When vanilla types encounter brat behavior in adults, they use terms like “in-laws” or “neighbors”. I think he’s a Spanko.

  10. D July 26, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    Here’s a test to help you decide: If you do something and he says: “You pulled an Erica Scott on me” or “I’ve been Zelle’d” then you know for sure. 🙂

    • Barely Pink July 26, 2011 at 11:30 am #

      Yes, those would be indisputable tells. Who knows, maybe he’ll pop along and comment here?

  11. Ronniesoul July 26, 2011 at 11:14 am #

    Hey Pink, I have to agree with D and say yes he’s a Spanko I don’t think anyone vanilla would call an adult “a brat.”

    Love,
    Ronnie
    xx

    • Barely Pink July 26, 2011 at 11:32 am #

      I agree. Especially not out of the blue. I was just sitting there, pretending to be all professional. 🙂

      • J July 26, 2011 at 6:17 pm #

        Are we supposed to believe that????
        “just sitting there, pretending to be all professional”
        Hah!
        definitely a BRAT!
        and
        definitely a spanko if he took the subtly offered bait.

        xxx
        J

      • Barely Pink July 26, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

        I’m the picture of professionalism at work. Honest. I swear. 😛

        But I do think he is a spanko as today he called me “young lady” in THAT tone. You just can’t fake that tone. You know?

        Hugs,

        Pink

  12. Dave July 26, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

    I doubt he’s a spanko, in terms of probability analysis.. But maybe he needs a spanking? who knows really…… 🙂 as always, fab post!

    you are super.
    d-

    • Barely Pink July 26, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

      But Spankos are taking over, right? Couldn’t this be the beginning of the uprising?

      In my head, it is.

      🙂

      And, yeah, I believe you know that I think you’re super, too. Thank you.

  13. bree July 27, 2011 at 1:50 am #

    I have been called a brat at work by my bosses many times, but that was only in jest and because I made them laugh. Really. 🙄 🙂

    I chose maybe and you always need a spanking Pink. That was one of the choices right? :mrgreen:

    Maybe you should wear the brooch that Ronnie found on ebay and then see what happens. Hehe. 👿

    • Barely Pink July 27, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

      Sure…it’s because you made them laugh. Totally buying it.

      I’ve always been a fan of wearing a secret, identifying pin or patch. But even then questions would remain, I suppose. Will check out Ronnie’s brooch when I am able.

  14. Hermione July 27, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    I belong to a group called BRAT. It’s totally work-related, but we often refer to ourselves as brats, and I wonder who else in the group understands the double meaning.

    Hugs,
    Hemione

    • Barely Pink July 27, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

      You should make t shirts. “What? It’s for work.” 😉

  15. bree July 27, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    HaHa! I voted more than once. 👿

    • Barely Pink July 27, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

      I hope you voted yes at least one of those times. Because HE IS A SPANKO.

      BTW you are a total brat. How’d you manage two votes?

      • bree July 27, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

        HaHaHa! Voted again and it took it. Pink I don’t know. It just let me. I have voted three times already. Lol. 👿

        Aren’t there any safe guards against having a person vote more than once in these polls? Obviously, I have found a bug in the system. I am good at that. I used to do this for a living. Hehe. Well it was part of my job anyway. I am still good at it. And here I thought I lost my touch. :p

        Sorry Pink. That wan’t very nice of me. I apologize. 🙂 But honestly, that was sort of fun. Sorry.

      • bree July 27, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

        Not sure if this is going to work. 😉


      • bree July 27, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

        Ok Everyone the new poll is open. See above link. Your responses would be greatly appreciated. 👿 😉

      • bree July 27, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

        🙄

      • Barely Pink July 27, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

        I just voted in your poll, bree. I notice that there is no option of “Bree should be spanked.” Period. 😛

        I don’t know how you managed to vote more than once. I’ve blocked repeat voting. I can’t vote more than once and it’s my stinkin’ poll. Harumph.

      • bree July 27, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

        Lol Pink.

        I voted four times, but I can’t vote anymore. Boo! I don’t know why that happened. Must have been a glitch.

        As far as me adding that option to my poll, WHY? That wouldn’t be fair. It was your poll not mine. Maybe I should start another poll to see if I should add your suggested new option to my poll. Giggles.

      • bree July 27, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

        OMG. Wait I just voted again. That’s five times Pink! Giggles.

      • Barely Pink July 27, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

        Seriously?

        Sheesh. Honestly, I can’t vote more than once and neither can D.

        You should add that option, simply because by the way I see it, you’ve voted WRONG five times in a row. He is a spanko. I’m telling you. More to come later on that.

      • bree July 27, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

        Simply because Pink? Pfffttt t Not a good reason. Giggles.

        I don’t see how I voted wrong. Maybe means yes or no. Possibly yes or possibly no. 😛

      • Barely Pink July 27, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

        Wow, you are a brat. 😉

        (In the best of ways, of course.) JC has his work cut out for him!

      • bree July 28, 2011 at 11:52 am #

        Hugs. 🙂

  16. J July 27, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    “Because HE IS A SPANKO”

    I suspect he knows (or suspects?) that you are too……………………………..

    xxx
    J

    • Barely Pink July 27, 2011 at 5:56 pm #

      I think the blush and the “Sir” might have tipped him off. Perhaps he calls every woman a brat, uses it as a hot button filter, and he got the appropriate, green-light sign from me. 😛

      Fun stuff.

      • Anonymous July 27, 2011 at 11:41 pm #

        I think if your not careful, with all this flirting at work with other potential spankos, there will be a certain gentleman who will be looking to provide you with all the spanking you could possibly desire!!!!!

        xxx
        J

  17. wordsmith July 28, 2011 at 3:32 am #

    Pink, it could be a trap by the antispanko police, have you thought of that! How will you feel when you are thrown in a dungeon and the whips are brought out for questioning? Yeees, methinks they’ve not thought this through.

    • wordsmith July 28, 2011 at 3:44 am #

      AND I voted twice on Bree’s Poll. Touché.

      • bree July 28, 2011 at 11:55 am #

        Well then, that means Pink and/or I should not be spanked then. It is clearly POLLDADDY’S fault and they should be spanked. Hehe. 😉

    • Barely Pink July 28, 2011 at 1:32 pm #

      You are right. I hadn’t thought it through, Wordsmith.

      I guess I better bring my interrogation clothes.

      • Barely Pink July 28, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

        HILARIOUS, bree, that people can vote more than once on YOUR poll, too.

        What was it you were saying about “safeguarding” a poll? 😉

  18. bree July 28, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    Eh…ummm…er…giggles. Well you know me, I will try to get a spanking for pretty much anything that affords itself that kind of opportunity. I only drag people along into it that I know will appreciate it Pink. Lol. Sigh. :roll:.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Spankdar « Words on the Bottom - August 1, 2011

    […] exists – the ability to tell if someone is a spanko just by observation (Bonnie, Pink). Now, as some Readers may remember, during the regular testing I had to undergo in my former life […]

Leave a Reply

