The Attitude

4 Aug
“You’re developing an Attitude,” he said under his breath in the check-out aisle.
 
“Oh? Is it a GOOD attitude?” I asked loudly.
 
“Umm…no. And it will be addressed later.” Swat!
 
There are lots of adjectives out there. Why, when someone is ‘developing an attitude’, is it automatically presumed to be a ‘bad attitude’? Positive. Cooperative. Sunny. Winning. Those could be used to describe my attitude — on any other day but this one.
 
Imagine jazz hands. Sarcastic jazz hands. With a snap. That was me.
 
Attitude with a capital ‘A’ apparently needs no adjective.
 

By Endart.


In the car, the only sound was my eye-rolling. You know the kind — when you roll your eyes so hard that the air sighs around them.
 
“We’re going to talk about that thing that’s been bothering you first. But then, young lady, you’ve earned yourself a Spanking,” he announced as he put the car in park in his driveway.
 
“Oh? Will it be a GOOD spanking?” I quipped.
 
It was not. Spanking with a capital “S” is similar to Attitude. It requires no adjective either.

23 Responses to “The Attitude”

  1. D August 4, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

    Your Attitude does not qualify for the Express Lane, which is only good for 12 swats or less.

    • Barely Pink August 4, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

      Gosh, I never qualify for the Express Lane.

  2. bree August 4, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    Smirk. Oh….ummm….geesh…so sorry Pink. Giggles.

    Apparently Pink with a capital “P” is similar to Attitude and Spanking also. It requires no adjective either. Just plenty of swats. Smirk. 😉

    • Barely Pink August 4, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

      Ha…so true. Lots and lots of them. However, I like the GOOD swats.

  3. Erica August 4, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    She’s baaaaaack — yay! Yeah, what’s up with that business about attitude always being assumed bad? I’ve been known to have a perfectly mediocre attitude.

    • Barely Pink August 4, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

      I’m sort of back. This weekend should see me free and clear.

      If by “mediocre” you mean “full of witticism and biting barbs”, then, yes. I’d say you are absolutely, brilliantly, perfectly mediocre. 🙂

  4. Gern Blandershphelt August 4, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

    I know just the tool for a good attitude adjustment… 😉

  5. Lea August 4, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

    “In the car, the only sound was my eye-rolling. You know the kind — when you roll your eyes so hard that the air sighs around them.” Ha, totally know the kind.

    • Barely Pink August 5, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

      Or as a friend once described, rolling her eyes so hard it hurt. 😉

  6. betheisley August 5, 2011 at 3:09 am #

    I’ve never understood the attitude thing either. Some days it’s considered adorably sassy and some days it needs to be adjusted. 😛

    • Barely Pink August 5, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

      I think it’s a matter of THEIR attitude instead of ours. 😉

  7. wordsmith August 5, 2011 at 3:51 am #

    Yo at-i-tooode the laady likes to give
    check it awt
    check it awt
    wan’ no ad-ject-ive

    Well, the inevitable consequence of eliminating articles of grammar is a career as a rapper. Might have to do something about your accent 😛

    • Barely Pink August 5, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

      You know that eye roll I wrote about? Yeah, I’m doing one now. 😉

      • wordsmith August 5, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

        Cheeky. Thought it quite catchy, actually.

  8. steve August 5, 2011 at 8:06 am #

    glad to see you back. In our worrld Attitude does have only one meaning. It also has only one response.

    • Barely Pink August 5, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

      I’m assuming it isn’t with an “attah girl” and a chuckle.

  9. Ronniesoul August 5, 2011 at 10:36 am #

    LOL, I can’t stop laughing Pink. “The only sound was my eye-rolling. You know the kind – when you roll your eyes so hard that the air sighs around them.” I know exzactly.

    Have a wonderful weekend.

    Love,
    Ronnie
    xx

    • Barely Pink August 5, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

      Those kind of eye rolls are good for everybody.

      Enjoy your weekend too, Ronnie!

  10. Ronniesoul August 5, 2011 at 10:38 am #

    Sorry Pink, I pressed the button to post comment before I corrected exactly:)

    Love,
    Ronnie
    xx

    • Barely Pink August 5, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

      HA….I’ll fix it when I can access the blog. 😉

      Hate when that happens.

  11. Six of the best August 5, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

    I would caption the spanking drawing. “Give me the cane, for I love pain, and it drives me insane.

  12. stephsnylons January 19, 2017 at 8:10 am #

    I would be More then Willing to Help her with her Bad Attitude, and would be Willing to help other Ladies to Behave Better

Leave a Reply

