D is for Discipline

21 Jul

 
Criss-crosses mark the fleshiest spots of my cheeks; in surprise, the lines turn from white to red.
 
I’m not crying because it hurts.
 
I stretch my arms in front of me and hold them there. I glare at my elbows and command them to stay strong, stay locked, as I await the next stroke. Each moment I wait is an opportunity to rebel; each moment I submit is a victory.
 
Within those moments, my mind travels to my past, present and future. I regret. I rejoice. I see my potential and I weep.
 
Pain is the easy way out. A tangible trigger, the release it brings is safer than weeping without cause. Each stroke of the cane touches deeper than the skin, ushering me through my mind’s corridor of guilt, memories and secrets.
 
Pain is a lie. I do not cry because of it.
 
I cry because he sees me, because I allow him to. Together we navigate the maze of static, disciplining the unruly self who otherwise denies the existence of darkness to arrive at the center.
 
There is light there.
 

15 Responses to “D is for Discipline”

  1. Erica July 21, 2011 at 1:38 am #

    Indeed there is, dear Pink. 🙂

    • Barely Pink July 21, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

      I love how I can go from thinking my life sucks to “everything is wine and roses” after a little perspective-lending.

      🙂

  2. Ronniesoul July 21, 2011 at 11:13 am #

    Love it Pink.

    I going to pinch that photo for my post tomorrow, hope you don’t mind.

    Love,
    Ronnie
    xx

    • Barely Pink July 21, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

      No problem, Ronnie! Use and enjoy. I look forward to your post!

  3. Lea July 23, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    Crying is almost never just from the physical pain, for me anyway. That picture intrigues me. The cane is something I’m not familiar with but have some odd fascination for and deep fear of at the same time.

    • Barely Pink July 24, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

      I shared that fear until recently. (Well, it’s been awhile now.)

      Actually, I still fear the cane. There is nothing like it, in my experience. I recommend a gentle session to get you started. It can be quite sensuous.

  4. Gern Blandershphelt July 24, 2011 at 11:31 pm #

    If you were my submissive and had written that; I’d have written back:

    Each victory of submission is a moment you demonstrate your strength. I see your potential and I rejoice that you have chosen me as the one who is worthy of your submission. Pain is never an easy way out; giving you the discipline you need, the release you crave. Each stroke of the cane cuts deeper than you know; each tear you shed one is I hold back. I see you, I see you how you wish to be, I love you as you are. I will guide your light to fight back the darkness and static; we will walk this path together.

    • Barely Pink July 25, 2011 at 12:30 am #

      That would be a beautiful thing to say, Gern.

  5. Katherine July 25, 2011 at 6:42 am #

    Hi Pink,

    I’m new in the bloggerhood (just wrote my first post last week). I’ve been enjoying reading your blog for several months now. I like the diversity of your writing — depending on the topic of the day, you leave me laughing out loud, curiously intrigued (your fantasy stories have a way of either making me think about things in a whole new way or thinking about things I’d never even thought about!), or lost in deep thought as I take time to absorb what you have to say.

    My husband and I have been practicing Dd for four months, and I have yet to reach that place of emotional release (whether it involves tears or not) I’ve so often read about. I want to be able to reach that place; I know how important it is for both of us.

    Would you mind if I quote what you wrote in a post I’m working on? I will, of course, give you all due credit.

    “I cry because he sees me, because I allow him to. Together we navigate the maze of static, disciplining the unruly self who otherwise denies the existence of darkness to arrive at the center.”

    This is it for me, Pink. You’ve hit the nail on the head. With me, I think the reason I haven’t been able to yet reach this place is because my resistance and pride is so great I am afraid of totally letting go. It’s like it’s the last little bit I have left. It’s what I have needed for so much of my life that I am afraid to part with it. I’ve been worrying that I may not ever be able to get there.

    Thank you for another thought-provoking post.

    Katherine

    • Barely Pink July 25, 2011 at 9:58 am #

      I am at work and responding from my phone, so forgive me for my lack of eloquence. (I shall respond better tonight.)

      Briefly, I wanted to thank you for saying what you’ve said. It is deeply meaningful to me. I also want to reassure you — you’ll get there. I was a tough girl, too, holding on to that last bit.

      And, of course you may quote me. As Gern says, it would be a great honor.

      I’m looking forward to checking out your new blog. Welcome to the blogosphere!

      Thanks again,

      Pink

  6. Katherine July 25, 2011 at 6:48 am #

    p.s. I loved what Gern had to say to his submissive. I plan to show it to my husband. Gern, if you happen to come back to read further comments, how would you feel about my quoting you as well? It goes so perfectly hand-in-hand with what Pink wrote. I’m sure many readers will be moved by what you both had to say.

    • Gern Blandershphelt July 25, 2011 at 9:42 am #

      For my part I would be honored Katherine, I still leave Miss Pink to speak for herself. She seems to like having the last word. 😉

    • Barely Pink July 25, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

      Katherine, can you provide a link to your blog? When I click on your name it just brings me to my dashboard.

      • Katherine July 26, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

        Thank you for the encouragement, Pink. I need to keep in mind that, although I have a long way to go, I really have come quite far, I guess, especially for a woman who never knew spanking (of any form) existed between a man and a woman until last year — and I was married for over 20 years to my first husband — how’s that for being naive? Oh, well, I’m making up for it now — I’m the one who brought the whole idea of Dd to Alex after accidentally stumbling onto the Taken In Hand website. Never in a million years would I have thought I would like being spanked 😀

        You should be able to reach my blog at http://kattykornertime85.wordpress.com/

        Thanks for the green light to quote you. I am the one who is honored to be in the company of such well-reputed and accomplished writers. I am learning so much!

      • Barely Pink July 26, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

        Katherine, yours sounds like an fantastic story, and I can’t wait to read more about you! I have many questions. I won’t ask them here. I’ll wait for you to post and then I’ll bombard you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

