(In)dependence

4 Jul

Today I am celebrating. Because I am independent, I willingly relinquish more. Because I am independent, I can choose to whom I give myself.
 
in·de·pen·dent
 
1. Not governed by a foreign power; self-governing: I am Mistress of my bedtime. I can do what I want.
 
2. Free from the influence, guidance, or control of another or others; self-reliant: Being of a strong mind and able body, I have confidence in my decisions and actions.
 
3. Not relying on others for support, care, or funds; self-supporting: I am nobody’s kept woman. If I want something enough, I’ll find a way to make it happen, by myself.
 

 
de·pen·dent:
 
1. To rely, especially for support or maintenance: The difference between a bad day and a good day often lies in the power of his hands against my cheeks. His shoulder delivers me from danger to safety.
 
2. To place trust or confidence: I will render myself helpless at his feet to feel the power of my trust.
 
3. To be determined, conditioned, or contingent: The severity of my next spanking is dependent on what he believes we need. It is not my decision. I do not want that power.
 

I choose to depend on him. I choose it over and over again.
 
Hooray for independence.

14 Responses to “(In)dependence”

  1. Erica July 4, 2011 at 11:31 pm #

    Amen! Brilliance. I have nothing to add.

    • Barely Pink July 5, 2011 at 1:26 am #

      Thanks, Erica! Hope you had a lovely Fourth!

  2. Raven Red July 5, 2011 at 2:28 am #

    I knew that there was a good reason why I went into such a sadness when work overtook my personal time…and after reading this post – I realised how much I missed your writing.

    Loved this!

    Hugs

    Raven

    • Barely Pink July 5, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

      Hey, Raven! I, too, have been absent from the blogosphere due to work and personal stuff. I’m right there with you in missing my blogging friends. It’s always a pleasure to see you, and take as much time as you need. I’m here.

      Hugs,

      Pink

  3. Ronniesoul July 5, 2011 at 4:50 am #

    Loved it Pink, hope you had a wonderful day.

    Love,
    Ronnie
    xx

    • Barely Pink July 5, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

      Thanks, Ronnie! The fireworks and weather couldn’t have been better.

      Hope you enjoyed your weekend across the pond, too — free from patriotic hoopla.

  4. D July 5, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

    I choose you, too.

  5. bree July 5, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

    Hooray! Vive mes fesses! I hope that translates correctly..

    I just read Mistress Of My Bedtime. I wish I had read this post a month ago. Sigh.

    I think I need JC to read both these posts.

    • Barely Pink July 5, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

      Yes, but please remember that even Mistresses of Bedtimes get spanked when they are up late cavorting on the internet. 🙂

      • bree July 6, 2011 at 11:46 am #

        Story of my life, Pink. If I had read this ahead of time, I could have learned from your experiences. I don’t cavort by the way. I explore.

        Blogs: the final frontier. These are the voyages of the starship Bree. Her never ending mission: to explore squirmy new spankings, to seek out new mischief with new and old friends, to boldly go where bottom has gone before.

        How’s that for being independent?

        Haven’t you noticed how good I have been, Pink? I haven’t been posting late anymore.

        Do you want to do something Pink? Or are you too busy? Lets go shopping.

        Oh by the way, can I borrow some of your pictures from your photo tumbler please?

      • Barely Pink July 6, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

        Shopping sounds good, Bree — I’m always game for that. Assuming, of course, that we shop responsibly and don’t overindulge on frilly underthings and shoes. *wink*

        And, absolutely…take as many photos from the Tumblr that you’d like. They’re there for people in need. 🙂

  6. JC July 6, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

    Wow! you certainly know how to sum things up in a few well written paragraphs…..Kay bree I will read both posts I don,t much about Mistresses Of Bedtime cavorting up late…. but I know about you! I also know when you proclaim your “goodness” that it it is time for a through investigation!

    • Barely Pink July 6, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

      When we proclaim about our goodness, it should just be believed. 🙂

Leave a comment