Who Reads Korean?

29 Jun

An old, dear friend of mine — or a friend of longstanding, his age having no relevance here (although he is olderish) — sent me these photos of an implement found at a toy show in Toronto.
 

It is a rattan thingamajig which he calls a cane and he says it is VERY nice, extra-special emphasis on “very” — which I translate as “wicked”. I’d argue that it’s not a cane, but I’m not sure what this little treat should be called.
 
There is a Korean inscription on the handle and he wonders if any of you might know what it says.
 

You don’t really need to be able to read Korean to come up with answers. Bonus points for creativity.
 
Discuss.
 

30 Responses to “Who Reads Korean?”

  1. Season June 29, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

    “Objects coming toward your bottom are closer than they appear.”

    • Barely Pink June 29, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

      Ha…I love that one.

      “Speak softly and carry a big stick.”

  2. Zelle June 29, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

    I know! It’s like the Sakura.. a fly rod for fishing! In other words… you’re fishing for excuses while on the fly away from that sucker! YEeeeee-OWWW! Talk about “fry em’ up in a pan”!

    • Barely Pink June 29, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

      That’s probably what it says — fry ’em up! It does look like a fly rod. Or chopsticks on steroids.

  3. Colin June 29, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    I bet it’s “Made in Korea”.
    Oh dear, mundane and vanilla, better go to my corner until I can think of something better.
    Nice blog by the way.

    • Barely Pink June 29, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

      Ding, ding, ding….we have a winner. I am positive it says “Made in Korea”.

      Welcome, Colin. Thanks for the comment and it’s great to have you here.

  4. D June 29, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

    It’s a measuring device. If the booty is wider than the length of the stick, grab a 2×4.

  5. Erica June 29, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

    I was going to suggest that it was Korean for “This thing bites,” but “Made in Korea” makes more sense. It does look like it would hurt like hell!

    • Barely Pink June 30, 2011 at 6:27 am #

      It really does look menacing. So, of course, I’d like to try it. 🙂

  6. linzee June 30, 2011 at 12:44 am #

    I actually do read Korean!! It says ‘sarang ui hwe cho ri” or: “The Switch of Love”

    Hope this helped! 🙂

    • Barely Pink June 30, 2011 at 6:29 am #

      Score!

      Thanks, linzee! My friend will be thrilled. 🙂

      Kind of sweet wording, huh?

      (And welcome to my blog!)

  7. wordsmith June 30, 2011 at 9:25 am #

    Sonbadageuro haneuleul gariryeohanda

  8. Ronniesoul June 30, 2011 at 10:46 am #

    Was going to say ‘switch of pain’

    ‘The Switch of Love’ much better.

    Love,
    Ronnie
    xx

    • Barely Pink June 30, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

      “Switch of pain” may be more accurate. 🙂

  9. paoloindublin2010aolo-in-dublin June 30, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

    With a touch of the cane everyone becomes a poet.

    • Barely Pink June 30, 2011 at 7:18 pm #

      Yes, sounds and words come out of me that I had no idea existed.

      BTW, is that a cane? I know it’s made from rattan, but it’s most decidely uncane-like.

  10. Nolens Volens June 30, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    Thought “Cane with care” when I saw the markings. 😉

    • Barely Pink June 30, 2011 at 7:20 pm #

      Oh, I like that one, too. Or, “Decorative purposes only.”

  11. Lea July 1, 2011 at 1:45 am #

    Well you’ve received a correct answer, but my guess was “Confucius say, Run away!” (I know he wasn’t Korean, but work with me here.)

  12. Anonymous July 1, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    “Olderish”???!!!! I take exception to that! You’re fortunate you’re not a bit closer, or I’d be tempted to reflect my dismay in some good old fashioned application of that “switch of love”. I’ve been dating a woman less than half my age for the past two years. Doesn’t that get me out of the “olderish” category??

    That “switch of love” is actually a lot of fun – at least for me. it has a nice sound as it swishes through the air on its way to the target; and on impact, it produces an appealing sound as it lands on flesh as well as a simultaneous “snap” when one piece of rattan hits the other. I’m told that it functions well for concentrating thought.

    Thanks for the translation. Much appreciated!

    Don

    • Barely Pink July 1, 2011 at 6:40 pm #

      Sorry it was a belated posting — 6 months late or so? Which makes you 6 months older….:P

      Yes, times like these make me quite happy that we’re separated by so many miles.

      Thanks to linzee for the translation!

      Hugs to you and Ms. A,

      Pink

  13. Chevsg July 2, 2011 at 2:27 am #

    I traveled a lot in the Orient so know a lot of their culture. I’m not sure if I’m mixing up some of the cultures but I’m pretty sure these are sold in some oriental toy stores. These “switches of love” are actually for parents; kind of a reminder to the kid to behave (like giving bad kids switches at Christmas time in Norway, Sweden or the other Nordic countries).

    I wonder if this store in Toronto delivers? I know a brat or two whose Dom would appreciate the gift.

    • Barely Pink July 2, 2011 at 6:39 am #

      Interesting…sort of like preemptive coal in the stocking. Not sure about delivery, but I am sure this toy could make an impression.

      Welcome, Chevsq. Nice to have you here.

  14. steve July 3, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    it could be something like, tasty with fish sauce. Like the urban legend about tattoos.

    • Barely Pink July 4, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

      Ha…yes. One of my friends got a tattoo of the Chinese characters “Harmony” on her back in college. We always joked that it actually said “Smelly”. She was unamused.

  15. Craig Aych July 4, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

    Didn’t read through all the comments to see if someone got it right, but it says, “Cane of Love.”

    • Barely Pink July 4, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

      Thanks, Craig — and welcome! Linzee actually translated it as “Switch of love”, but the words seem interchangeable here.

      You smarty pants. I’m impressed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

