All I Need to Know…

19 Jun
All I really need to know I learned from spanking:
 
1. Pain is inevitable. Composure is optional.
 
2. Be proud of your body. Even if it’s not the “right” shape, there is joy to be found in every molecule.
 
3. Every relationship can be improved with the existence of a safe word.
 
4. When you need a hug, don’t be the first to pull away. Give in to the hug; let yourself be comforted.
 

5. Don’t be afraid of waving the white flag. It takes more strength to admit your limits than to remain silent.
 
6. Short skirts have their time and place.
 
7. Know your way but be accepting of others’.
 
8. Always wear clean panties.
 

9. Things often get worse before they get better. Grit your teeth, pull up your socks, and don’t lose sight of the end goal.
 
10. Never, ever eat beans.

29 Responses to “All I Need to Know…”

  1. Dioneo June 19, 2011 at 12:39 am #

    I couldn’t agree more with #9! Whether it’s a strenuous month at work, or a thorough ass-tanning, perseverance is key. What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger…and almost everything that you encounter in life doesn’t kill you.

  2. Barely Pink June 19, 2011 at 12:45 am #

    However, if you happened to eat beans prior to that thorough ass-tanning, it’s time to wave the white flag, and take your clean panties out of there while the going is good.

    😛

  3. Lea June 19, 2011 at 12:54 am #

    This list gives the Learned in Kindergarten people a run for their money. I agree with all of them. 🙂

    • Barely Pink June 19, 2011 at 12:59 am #

      There was a list online called “Everything I need to know I learned from a cow”. I didn’t read it. Interesting story, huh?

      Thanks, Lea!

  4. steve June 19, 2011 at 1:09 am #

    the only one I disagree with is about short skirts. They are aways appropriate.

    • Barely Pink June 20, 2011 at 7:28 pm #

      Oops, sorry Steve. I missed you there!

      Short skirts are inappropriate for climbing ladders. Er…I suppose you see things differently, though, don’t you?

      • steve June 20, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

        I see things very well. Especially when raised to the appropriate height.

  5. Michael June 19, 2011 at 4:29 am #

    Pink, I LOVE this – all we need to know we learned from spanking. Excellent sentiment and you presented it so well in both word and picture. I really like the cheek squeezing hug photo as it is sexy, squirmy and comforting all at once.

    I find especially important points number 4 and 5.

    Also, another point I always like to make about our beautiful alpha bottoms and subs like you, Zelle, Erica and my Season to name but a delightful few is that a woman never stands as tall as when she bends for a spanking. You must be strong to willingly commit yourself to the hands of another. I, like your D, always hold this trust as sacred and do my utmost to fulfill it while keeping you safe. Ouchy, but safe.

    Oh, and don’t forget about beans:
    Beans, beans, they’re good for your heart,
    The more you eat, the more you…..lower your cholesterol.

    • Barely Pink June 19, 2011 at 8:19 am #

      Haha, Michael. I heard that beans are good for…cholesterol.

      I totally agree with you that submission takes great strength. I initially denied that I was submissive because of that key point. I didn’t understand submission, thinking that it was a sign of weakness to yield to another. Wow, was I ever wrong.

  6. Velvet June 19, 2011 at 6:59 am #

    So true, so true, and as always with your own twist at the end that makes me burst out laughing.

    Thank you so much for putting a grin on my face,

    Hugs,

    Velvet ❤

  7. Bogey June 19, 2011 at 7:14 am #

    #5 rings true to us, but most “subs” would disagree.

    • Barely Pink June 19, 2011 at 8:23 am #

      Hello, Bogey and welcome!

      I’m not sure that I can agree with you, though, about most subs not waving the white flag. I think it’s a misperception, because subs often take more than they thought they could, that they take more than they really want or need. But maybe I just run with the alpha subs among us. 🙂

  8. Season June 19, 2011 at 7:20 am #

    All I need to know I learned from Pink!

    I learned what BOB really stands for! 😀

    • Barely Pink June 19, 2011 at 8:25 am #

      BOB is one of the more important acronyms that we need to know. Many, many applications. 🙂

  9. Season June 19, 2011 at 7:31 am #

    On a slightly more serious note, I’d like to offer an addendum to #3:

    3a. Don’t expect others to be mind-readers.

    • Barely Pink June 19, 2011 at 8:25 am #

      Oh, I love that addendum. I second it.

  10. Dave June 19, 2011 at 8:53 am #

    #11. In most cases, cherry red is a color that is really quite super, and, you see, often fits in nicely with most home decor.

    p.s. I loved this post! And I love this blog.

    • Barely Pink June 19, 2011 at 9:14 am #

      In addition to being a top-notch blogger, I see interior decorating emerging as one of your fortes. I really consider cherry red to be a more neutral color in the palette. Every room benefits from a splash of red — particularly in the corners!

      And thank you. It brings me great joy to have you here. 🙂

  11. D June 19, 2011 at 10:25 am #

    #8 reminds me of improvised mouth gags.
    #12 – Wearing stripes makes you look sexy.

    • Barely Pink June 19, 2011 at 10:31 am #

      There you go…offering yet another reason for the necessity of clean panties.

      And I agree with #12. They say that horizontal stripes tend to make a woman look bigger. But carefully placed horizontals are lovely, indeed.

  12. tim June 20, 2011 at 9:47 am #

    Pink nice blog you have lovey,love and spanks ,tim xx

    • Barely Pink June 20, 2011 at 6:57 pm #

      Thanks, Tim! Always good to see you here.

  13. wordsmith June 20, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    42…make lists to put off the inevitable

    • Barely Pink June 20, 2011 at 6:58 pm #

      109…Realize that I forgot #16 and start all over again…

  14. bree June 20, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

    I like #4 and #7 the best. Especially #4. (SWOON!)

    • Barely Pink June 20, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

      That photo is delish, isn’t it, bree?

  15. Pandora June 30, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    I love this post! True and witty as ever and I love the twist in the end 😉 The first three in particular had me nodding lots. Thinking/talking about kink has had such a positive impact on the way I handle relationships and sex in general. The first image is awesome too!

    • Barely Pink June 30, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

      I’ve noticed that I’m a much more open person in all aspects of life after embracing this kink. Because a successful spanking or D/S relationship requires so much honesty, I guess I don’t know when to turn that honesty off. I think I like it.

      Thanks, Pandora!

Leave a Reply

