Flashback Friday: Kitchen Revelation

10 Jun
Borrowing from American Spanking Society’s idea of Flashback Fridays, I will repost an entry from approximately one year prior. Hope you enjoy the trip down Memory Lane as much as I do!
 
I may speculate about a number of things, but the sex lives of my relatives is usually not among them. I mean, not really. I don’t want details. I assume they all have sex and I hope they enjoy it, but imagining my great-uncle boning my great-aunt is not a healthy image for me to carry around.
 
Admittedly, this question has fleetingly occurred to me: spanko, or no? Not that I would tip my hand and actually ask them.
 
A few years ago, I received a definitive answer regarding one southern aunt.
 
We were in her kitchen, finishing lunch preparations. She bent to look into the oven, checking the pizza, and asked, “Can you get the paddle out of the drawer, please?”
 
I stopped tearing the lettuce momentarily, trying to understand what she meant.
 
“Paddle?” I asked, my tone dropping instinctively.
 
“Oh…er…umm….spatula. The spatula. Should be on the top,” she corrected, a tiny bit flustered.
 
Now….
 
I have a dirty mind, granted. But is that not a sure tell? Who says “paddle” instead of “spatula”? And furthermore, who knows that their “paddle” is right on top?
 
Is my aunt a spanko? I think that’s an affirmative. And I find myself watching my p’s and q’s around her a bit more closely, not for fear of the spatula, but because I don’t want to betray my own, closely guarded secret.
 
And I wonder, who else among my clan has these desires?
 
Well, I don’t wonder that much.

6 Responses to “Flashback Friday: Kitchen Revelation”

  1. Michael June 10, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    I believe your aunt definitely has the spanko gene, Pink. And when at a large gathering of friends or relatives I sometimes do wonder how many kinks must be represented. I mean if you have 200 people at a wedding there is no way it is 100% vanilla. How many are spankos, how many are into bondage or anal or role playing. But if you are present, Miss Pink, then we have many kinks represented in just one person, and that is a good thing, my friend. 🙂

    • Barely Pink June 11, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

      Isn’t there some sort of statistic that says about 10% of people like spanking in the bedroom? While a large gathering of family isn’t exactly a random sampling of the population, I’d be willing to bet that more than one shares at least a small portion of our kink.

      I think my aunt has the spanking “gene” as well. I’ve always suspected it from that side of the family.

  2. Dave Wolfe June 11, 2011 at 5:51 am #

    What a great entry, Pink, because many of us relate!

    One of my friends found spoons and spatulas in a bedroom dresser drawer while helping an older relative clean once!

    I’ve seen members of my family and their spouses play-spank on occasion, but whether they’re as “into it” as I is unknown. I wonder if they collect WolfieToons and recognize my style?

    • Barely Pink June 11, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

      Ha…wouldn’t that be something if your family unknowingly reads your blog and enjoys your toons?

      The box of spoons and spatulas in the bedroom is pretty damning evidence. I once visited my brother while he was living in San Francisco and his British roommate had a plastic spatula on his night stand. Let’s just say that I became that roommate’s biggest fan!

  3. Nic June 11, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    Your first tip off should have been ‘southern’ aunt. Family reunions with my southern half tend to be filled with squirm-inducing snippets of spanking talk all day long. Like you I’m so worried about appearing too interested in the conversation that I have a hard time relaxing!

    • Barely Pink June 11, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

      Hi, Nic! Welcome.

      Feigning disinterest also has consequences. In my mind it’s a tell. So, yeah, conversations about spanking while with family are so uncomfortable. You have to walk that very thin line of appropriate responses.

      Why is it that in the South they seem much more open to spanking?

Leave a Reply

