Behold! The Spanko.

7 May

Original photo courtesy of Random Nudes, via Cantamar. Modified by Dioneo Daspanca.

In my many conversations with Dioneo, I’d neglected to confirm the meanings of his name and his blog, Ecce Spanko, although my assumptions later proved correct.
 
A self-proclaimed nerd (of the sexiest variety), he chose his moniker from the Decameron, that bawdy, 14th Century, allegorical work by Giovanni Boccaccio. (I will spare the book report as it would be quite lengthy and I’m sure my memory will not serve it well.)
 
“Ecce Spanko” translates directly to, “Behold the Spanko!”
 
They are perfect names for the blog and the writer of my feature this month — perfect because they fit with his mission, “…to spank the mind and tickle the gut.”
 

Photo courtesy of Sexy Little Things, via Naggisch, paddle added by Dioneo Daspanca.


Don’t let the literary allusions intimidate you. Ecce Spanko is full of haiku and cleverly modified photos, a delicious blend of humor and reflection, silliness and depth. Dioneo takes neither himself nor his subject too seriously.
 
Ranging from culinary metaphor to Shakespearean reference, like any good professor, Dioneo keeps us on our toes.
 
That is exactly what I liken Dioneo to: a professor with a big, sturdy desk, his sleeves perpetually at half-mast, ready to dole out each day’s lesson with hearty joi de vivre.
 
Pay attention, class. This professor knows how to keep his students awake.
 

Visit Ecce Spanko. This is as Toppy as I get.

18 Responses to “Behold! The Spanko.”

  1. crankyspanker May 8, 2011 at 12:50 am #

    Thanks for the clarification. I must have viewed that Darth Vader photo several times before I noticed the slight addition.

    This is as close to 3 am as I get!!

    Emanuele

    • Barely Pink May 8, 2011 at 11:01 am #

      So, does 3 am make you more or less cranky, Emanuele?

      • crankyspanker May 8, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

        Yup especially if I am up past my bedtime.

        🙂

        Emanuele

      • Barely Pink May 8, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

        I imagine a girl banging around, making all matters of noise at that early hour would be grateful to be on the receiving end of your crankiness, then. 🙂

    • Dioneo May 9, 2011 at 9:26 am #

      LOL. Yes, I can be too subtle for my own good sometimes, Emanuele. At first, I was going to put in a lightsaber caning, but I thought that might be overkill. 😉

  2. Raven Red May 8, 2011 at 8:16 am #

    I absolutely love his blog!

    Raven
    xx

    • Barely Pink May 8, 2011 at 11:02 am #

      It is as I expected. You have impeccable taste. 🙂

    • Dioneo May 9, 2011 at 9:27 am #

      Pink’s right, you do have remarkable taste! 😉 Thanks, Raven, I absolutely love your blog as well.

  3. Season May 8, 2011 at 9:21 am #

    I enjoy Dioneo’s blog, too. Great choice for the Featured Blog! How is Ecce pronounced, btw? I’ve often wondered that.

    • Dioneo May 9, 2011 at 9:34 am #

      Thanks, Season! I’m a big fan of Blossom and Thorn as well! Since Latin is a dead language, there’s really no correct pronunciation. I pronounce it as if it were italian: basically “ay-chay” in english.

  4. Barely Pink May 8, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    Hey! I was saying it all wrong before, in my head.

    There are two ways to pronounce it: ek′sē or ek′ā.

    • Dioneo May 9, 2011 at 9:36 am #

      I’m not up on pronunciation notation, but I think I say the first one. Like “etchay” maybe?

      • Barely Pink May 9, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

        I used to pronounce it like I was choking on a hairball. Now I know.

  5. Dioneo May 9, 2011 at 9:23 am #

    I’d say you’re pretty nerdy yourself for getting the references. I thought I was being sufficiently obscure! 😉

    In all seriousness, Pink, thank you so much for your kind words about Ecce Spanko. Your blog was (and continues to be) one of the primary inspirations for mine. You really know how to make a guy feel special.

    Now regarding that professor fantasy, see me after class…

    • Barely Pink May 9, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

      If this blog had anything to with inspiring yours, then I can consider my work done. That is extremely flattering, thank you. But I still think you’d win that nerd-off that we never had. 😉

  6. Corrective Measures May 9, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    “…a professor with a big, sturdy desk, his sleeves perpetually at half-mast, ready to dole out each day’s lesson with hearty joi de vivre.”

    Since that is what you liken him to , Pink, I take it you have had your share of meetings with the Board of Education?

    That is the type of correction a “big sturdy desk” supports: Tummy down on desk top, hands grasping far edge, legs apart to keep buttocks high and soft while half-mast forearms mete out full-swing swats with a paddle drill-holed for swift sure justice that welts right through plaid pleats and thin white cotton as tears well and flow and screeches seem to come out of no where as you are made to get back down for extra after jumping up to grab your blazing bottom.

    • Barely Pink May 9, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

      I am morally opposed to wooden implements. The professor of my dreams carries a pillow in his strong, large hands.

      • Corrective Measures May 10, 2011 at 6:21 am #

        lol I detect cheeky sarcasm. Sounds like a girl calling wooden paddles morally reprehensible because she knows how much they make her butt hurt and how much she occasionally deserves it. RIght about the pillow though, that would be needed 🙂

Leave a Reply

