Up the Ladder

28 Apr


He paused with the paddle to thread his fingers in my hair and pull my head back.
 
“Do you remember your safe word?” He asked, his breath cool against my tears, his eyes evaluating my distress.
 
“Yes, Sir,” I answered. I wasn’t ready to break this spell. Despite teetering on the edge of my limits, I wanted him to push me further than he’d pushed before. “Please don’t make me say it.”
 
“I want to know that you can if you need to,” he whispered as he nipped my earlobe and pinched my nipple painfully. “I don’t want to take you that far, but this is new. I need to know that you can say it.”
 
His hand smacked my punished bottom before piling pillows onto the middle of the bed. I understood his intentions but waited for the command.
 
“Up.”
 
I knew what to do. I knew how he wanted me, but relished his authority as he guided me over the pillows and spread my thighs into the perfect position. He fixed my arms above my head with velcro restraints attached to the headboard.

“I want you to say your safe word. This is just practice,” he said.
 
I paused.
 
“Now,” he commanded, punctuating the order with a swing of the paddle.
 
“It’s ‘ladder’,” I mumbled into the bed sheets, wincing more from the shame of saying that word than from the paddle’s impact. It felt foolish speaking it out loud — a word chosen to signal the need for safety.
 
Surrender felt weak.
 
“Louder, so I can hear you. Try.”
 
“Ladder!” I nearly shouted it this time, out of frustration, the first time the word existed loudly between us.
 
It had all been theory before this.
 
“Good girl,” he said as he pet my back and assessed my burning cheeks. “We can continue.”
 

9 Responses to “Up the Ladder”

  1. Gern Blandershphelt April 28, 2011 at 6:04 pm #

    And continue you should… What happened next? I think I know, but one can never be sure… Maybe you’ve done this on purpose…

    Somehow I doubt that ladder is the first word he ever made you scream…. 😉

    • Barely Pink April 28, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

      Hey, Gern!

      I didn’t say “ladder” (and mean it) that night or any other night, really. He never took it that far, except for an aggravated injury once.

      He just knew how stubborn I was at admitting I’d reached my limit. He, particularly before knowing my responses, was concerned that he would end up hurting me without me communicating it properly.

      Making me say my safeword before we started intense play was a really responsible thing to do, I think. And that’s damn hot.

      Sorry, I got sidetracked. Yes, I’ve screamed lots of words, although “ladder” is not among them. 🙂

  2. steve April 28, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    and you want spend your time writing in the vaniilla world? Your ability to make your readers use their imaginations is second to none. Please keep it up.

    • Barely Pink April 28, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

      Big smiles. Thanks, Steve.

      This is where I go off and beam.

  3. dd April 30, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

    Pink, I have never, yet, safeworded, although BBH has at times reminded me that I can. “No”, I can’t”, “stop” are ignored, sometimes paused on, a firm hand or a gentle caress given to reassure.

    • Barely Pink April 30, 2011 at 8:22 pm #

      I safeworded once, because of a back injury. And one other time I said. “I’m about to use my safeword”, because I was losing sensation in my wrists but didn’t want the play to end.

      For the most part, D reads me well. Sounds like BBH reads you well, too. 🙂

  4. dd April 30, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

    Pink, too well sometimes 🙂

  5. Raven Red May 2, 2011 at 4:14 am #

    All I can say – loved the post, and that I have learned my lesson. No more eating or drinking while catching up with blogs…(GRIN)

    Hugs

    Raven

    • Barely Pink May 2, 2011 at 9:46 am #

      Yes, only sitting. I learned that lesson as well….one time I was on the phone with my mother while reading someone’s blog (I think it was Erica’s) and I started laughing but couldn’t explain what was so funny. Blog-reading definitely requires singular purpose. 🙂

      Hugs to you, hope you’ve been well!

Leave a Reply

