A Public Whomping

26 Apr
Here’s a small reference from Petticoat Junction that I found on my routine perving. There’s something about Uncle Joe’s (Edgar Buchanan) easy threat to turn Betty Jo over his knee and use his hairbrush on her. I suspect that hairbrush has seen frequent use.
 
Equally charming is Kate Bradley’s (Bea Benaderet) reply.
 

 

“Well, you go fetch your hairbrush and I’ll meet you in the basement. I never did like getting whomped in public.”
 
Bonus points for using the word “whomped”. Expect this blogger to utilize it once or twice in future posts.
 

53 Responses to “A Public Whomping”

  1. Emanuele Lombardi April 26, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    I always liked Uncle Joe, now I know why.

    Emanuele

  2. Barely Pink April 26, 2011 at 10:55 pm #

    Until I see his hairbrush, I’m reserving judgment on Uncle Joe.

  3. Dioneo April 26, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    I think it’s hilarious how non-chalant the ladies are about it all. Imagine announcing such a thing in public these days!

    • Barely Pink April 26, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

      I know. “Ho-hum, Uncle Joe with his hairbrush, again.”

      Love it.

  4. Zelle April 26, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

    OMG.. that’s priceless.. There’s just something about “Petticoats”.. I can still hear that train whistle at the start of the show (which I used to watch all the time as a kid!)

    Sing along! LOL

    • Barely Pink April 26, 2011 at 11:53 pm #

      Thanks for posting that, Zelle! I’m not familiar with the show at all, really. Except there was a restaurant in my tiny college town called “Petticoat Junction” and we always convened there in the early mornings. Good memories, fuzzy but good.

      Hey, are Uncle Joe and Kate related on the show?

      • Zelle April 27, 2011 at 12:05 am #

        The show followed the goings-on at the Shady Rest Hotel, where Kate was the proprietor. Her lazy Uncle Joe helped her in the day-to-day running of the business, while she served as a mediator in the various minor crises that befell her three daughters: Betty Jo, Bobbie Jo, and Billie Jo. Cute huh? LOL

      • Barely Pink April 27, 2011 at 12:10 am #

        Wow, that’s a lot of Jo(e)s.

        I’ll have to check into the series. I found another clip with Kate threatening to spank a spoiled old man. Comedic gold. 🙂

  5. Erica April 27, 2011 at 12:05 am #

    I think Uncle Joe and Kate were brother and sister, but I’m not sure. Kate had three daughters: Billie Jo, Bobbie Jo and Betty Jo. None of them was ever called BJ. (snicker)

    Whomped???? LOL!

    I can hear that theme song now…

    • Barely Pink April 27, 2011 at 12:10 am #

      That would have been a whole ‘nother show! The BJ Sisters.

  6. dd April 27, 2011 at 2:30 am #

    “Whomped”, that’s brilliant!

    Glad Zelle and Erica provided the synopsis, else I’d have been googling in perplexity again.

    • Barely Pink April 27, 2011 at 6:31 am #

      Although I’m obviously not familiar with the show, I have a sudden interest. 🙂

  7. Erica April 27, 2011 at 2:39 am #

    Damn — just noticed I repeated what Zelle already said! Ah well… it was late. 🙂

    Oh, and Betty Jo eventually had a daughter… Kathy Jo. Guess they ran out of Bs.

    • Barely Pink April 27, 2011 at 6:33 am #

      Your first comment, though, had me thinking of theme songs for “Whomped!”

      At least she kept the “Jo” part!

  8. jane April 27, 2011 at 4:16 am #

    Hahaha….that is hilarious! There are some old black and white episodes of “I Love Lucy” where Desi takes Lucy over his knee and spanks her. That’s where it all started for me 😉

    • Barely Pink April 27, 2011 at 6:34 am #

      Hi, Jane!

      I remember watching those episodes on the old Nick at Nite, and feeling all tingly. 🙂

  9. Raven Red April 27, 2011 at 4:44 am #

    “Whomp” sounds sore. Obviously in my eternal quest to avoid being “whomped” by Uncle Nick (oh yea gods, it is three months to go – and it is coming closer), I am going to tell him that I do not want to be “whomped”.

    This will start a debate on whether “whomped” is an acceptable, “British” word…which hopefully will allow me to leave the room in a huff when comments are made about my South African English…

    Okay, I know – will let you now how it works for me :))

    A Girl can only try, Miss Pink…

    Hugs

    Raven

    • Barely Pink April 27, 2011 at 6:37 am #

      I’d be interested to know if there is a difference between whomping and spanking. This could spawn a whole new generation of Whompos with whomping blogs.

      I was wondering, when you write things over there (or in the UK) like “colour” or other things with the “ur”, does your spell check alert you to the misspelling? It does here.

  10. dd April 27, 2011 at 9:54 am #

    We have a UK spell checker which scolds us to add those missing “u”s the Americans so carelessly mislaid and to change “z” to “s” when instructed.

    • Barely Pink April 27, 2011 at 9:59 am #

      Ah yes, the “z” to “s” debacle. I occasionally find myself writing things your way, because I read so many UK & Canadian blogs. Then I get spanked by spell check.

      One of my very good friends is Canadian, and a damn fine speller. For the longest time, she spelled hormone with an extra “o” – horomone. Hesitant to call attention to it, I finally asked her, “Is that the Canadian way?” 😛

      It wasn’t.

  11. dd April 27, 2011 at 10:42 am #

    Spell checkers are very Toppy aren’t they, constantly overiding me?

    Pink, if you read books by British (Canadian, South African etc) authors, are they published in American English or The King’s English? Actually I don’t know the answer to that the other way round, will have to check. Sheesh, don’t know why we don’t just go back to Shakespearian times and spell in any way which takes our fancy.

    • Barely Pink April 27, 2011 at 10:51 am #

      They’re published in The King’s English, mostly. I’ll occasionally find a book by a British author that is published in American English (trying to remember the last one).

      I’m tired of spell-checker constantly highlighting “spanko”. It’s a word, dammit!

  12. Jon April 27, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    Great little post there! I had never seen this clip before:) I also like his nonchalant and nononsense approach to what he was saying 🙂

  13. Raven Red April 27, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

    I am rather getting used to the fact that my spell check (if I do not set it to SA English or UK English) will tell me to take the ‘u’ out of colour, harbour etc. It also wants me to put a lot of “z’s” in places where it should not be.

    Oh, and by the way, according to the UK powers in charge – I will have to submit myself to an English test, to proof that I can read, understand and speak the language. Erm…I do understand their reasons – but I have a Matric certificate (do NOT know what it is called in US speak – grin) showing that I had English as a second language on Higher Grade.

    Nor does it apparently matter that I wrote my nursing exams in English, or that I turn out about 100 reports per month in professional and formal English.

    • Barely Pink April 27, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

      Interesting. Do you mean the government as “the powers in charge”, or Uncle Nick? 😉

  14. Raven Red April 27, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

    LOL! No, the UK government…really. And before I make comments that would ensure I will never sit again, I am going to STOP right here!

    Hugs

    Raven

    • Barely Pink April 27, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

      I suspected as much, but it really could have been either. 😛

  15. Corrective Measures April 30, 2011 at 3:44 am #

    So perhaps those three girls were simply in that water tank to cool off whomped bottoms 🙂

    • Barely Pink April 30, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

      Hi, CM! (Good to see you here!)

      I’d say it’s highly likely! The hairbrush and hand were quite busy at Shady Rest. 🙂

      • Corrective Measures May 3, 2011 at 3:10 am #

        Although, I would think besides OTK, Uncle Joe probably often ushered one or more of the girls down the basement stairs where a razor strop was lifted from its hook as positions were assumed and Petticoats raised.

      • Barely Pink May 3, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

        I’m sure that Shady Rest had a woodshop, too.

        (Apologies, I thought I responded to this comment through my email while at work, but it didn’t post here.)

      • Corrective Measures May 4, 2011 at 10:50 am #

        I was a little upset that my strop in the basement comment went seemingly unnoticed by you. You did apologize, so perhaps we can settle the matter with a maintenance spanking? 🙂

        Wood-shop you say? I bet Uncle Joe lovingly crafted personalized “butt whompers” “Betty Jo” “Billie Jo” “Bobbie Jo” lol. Perhaps even Crackerbarrel’s infamous paddle was inspired by Uncle Joe’s handiwork. This thread keeps on giving 🙂

      • Barely Pink May 4, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

        Ha…I bet they did have personalized paddles. Or perhaps just one with “BJ” on it would have covered the lot of them.

  16. Dave Wolfe April 30, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

    So, Uncle Joe wasn’t ALWAYS movin’ kinda slow, at the Junction! (PETTICOAT Junction!)

    Paul Henning’s shows frequently had spanking references, something that always got MY attention as a kid– and beyond!!

    You may already know that Bea Benaderet did a bunch of voiceover work, too, and “got spanked” as Betty Rubble!

    Thanks for the post! And congrats on being on the Chross List this week!t

    • Barely Pink April 30, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

      I didn’t know that about Bea. But now that you mention Betty Rubble…yeah, I totally hear it!

      One of my favorite shows, “How I Met Your Mother”, has occasional spanking references. I think I tune in most weeks to see if someone will mention it. 🙂

      We will always be spanking dorks, won’t we, Dave?

  17. Dave Wolfe May 1, 2011 at 1:29 am #

    Hee! I used to think, Pink, that I was the only one so obsessed, sitting through a really BAD two-hour movie just to hear a five-second spanking threat– but then I discovered the lists Bostn Bob and Dan Rivera and LOTS of others had made!

    Here’s a list of Bea’s credits from the Internet Movie Database! She and June Foray were a bunch– if not all– of the female voices in the Warner Brothers cartoons!

    And as Cousin Pearl, Bea was chased around the “Beverly Hillbillies” kitchen once as Granny threatened to whomp her butt with a skillet!!

    • Barely Pink May 3, 2011 at 9:22 pm #

      Can you imagine being a spanko back then? I feel my face flush now when a spanking reference is made while in vanilla company. It seems like those references were all over the place back then. Or perhaps spankos of yesteryear were desensitized?

      (Sorry, I swear I posted a response through my email while at work, but it didn’t show up here.)

      🙂

    • Corrective Measures May 4, 2011 at 10:54 am #

      And on the Beverly Hillbillies there is one episode in which Mr. Drysdale deals with his wife in his office and you hear the spanking. Miss Jane looks in with an amused look and turns back to Uncle Jed (I think) and says, “He’s paddling her.”

      • Corrective Measures May 4, 2011 at 11:01 am #

        There was another two-part color episode entitled “The Badgers” with a pair of swidlers, one of them played by the lovely Gayle Hunnicut.

        The final scene took place in Drysdale’s office, the real swindlers had been caught and Jed was giving Drysdale the lowdown. Emmaline Fetty (Hunnicutt’s character) was present and looking very contrite. Jed said, “Emmaline and I had a long talk, and that did some good. But then, Granny took her down to the cellar and got to the seat of the problem.” Then Emmaline rubbed her bottom and said, “She sure did! Nobody ever explained right from wrong to me like that before”, as Miss Jane snickered in the background.

      • Corrective Measures May 4, 2011 at 11:05 am #

        Finally (sorry feel compelled to share) there is another spanking reference of Mr. Drysdale wife amongst the many Hillbillies spanking references.

        She had done something to offend the Clampetts, Milburn (Mr. Drysdale) went next door to apologize. As he was leaving, he told Jed and Granny, “She’s at home standing in the corner and now I’m on the way to paddle her.”

      • Barely Pink May 4, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

        Man, I’d love to get my hands on those clips. Any idea where I can find them?

        I LOVED the Beverly Hillbillies as a kid. I don’t remember the spanking references, but they probably made a subliminal impression.

      • Anonymous May 5, 2011 at 12:20 am #

        I’ll have to check around Youtube. You might just have to get the dvd sets, lol. There are so many references it may be worth it.

        Here are some pics of Gayle Hunnicut who rubbed her bottom and commented about never having right from wrong explained to her that way after Granny got to the seat of her problem in the cellar.

        Here Gayle is obviously getting some stern words from James Garner in 1969’s “Marlowe” http://pixhost.info/avaxhome/0e/4a/00174a0e_medium.jpeg

      • Corrective Measures May 5, 2011 at 12:24 am #

        Not sure I will check Youtube. Might have to get the dvd sets, lol. There are so many references.

        Here is a pic of Gayle Hunnicut who rubbed her bottom and after Granny got to the seat of her problems in the cellar. She looks like she is getting some guiding words from James Garner in 1969’s Marlowe.

      • Barely Pink May 6, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

        Wow! You are a wealth of information!

        (And I am yet again negligent in my response. Not an apology. Just an observation. 😉 )

      • Corrective Measures May 7, 2011 at 10:41 am #

        (And I am yet again negligent in my response. Not an apology. Just an observation. )

        Imagine a plaid-skirted hellion saying, “I am yet again late for class. Not an apology. Just an observation.
        Answer: “Bend over and put your elbows on my desk. You can observe my ink-blotter while I go get the paddle.”

        You have quickly descended from the apologetic to the stridently “asking for it” sassy. And, I am more than happy to provide some corrective “whomping” young lady!

      • Corrective Measures May 7, 2011 at 11:08 am #

        As someone once said:

        Procrastination, excuses, and tardiness must be dealt with, young lady!

      • Barely Pink May 7, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

        Dreadfully sorry.

        Is that better? 😉

        (Way to use my own words against me, CM! I knew I’d regret saying that.)

      • Anonymous May 7, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

        I’m afraid it is too late for apologies now. Meet me in the cellar 🙂

  18. Six of the best May 6, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    I love this spanking scene. Whenever a mature woman is given a good spanking on her bare bottom, It just sends me. Most erotic. Thank you.

  19. Barely Pink May 6, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    Happy to show you a scene you enjoyed, SOTB. It’s really pretty innocent, and I think that’s what I love so much about it.

  20. Corrective Measures May 7, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    I’m afraid it is too late for apologies now. Meet me in the cellar 🙂

    • Corrective Measures May 8, 2011 at 10:36 am #

      I found a rare pic of the Steve using the Whomper Uncle Joe made for him in his woodshed when he married Betty Jo in the second season.

      • Barely Pink May 8, 2011 at 10:49 am #

        I did not know they had such modern underthings. But I applaud Betty Jo’s smokin’ bottom.

Leave a Reply

