Blank as the Moon

22 Apr


My own Flash Fiction Friday, inspired by the above photo. This is a total work of fiction.
 
You sleep through my nude perusal of the night.
 
I try to find lingering marks in the dimness but my curves appear blank as the moon. There is no evidence of us there, no shiny, red trinkets from our travels. My thighs are dry but sticky — the only souvenir I have — soon to be washed clear of you.
 
I wonder if there is another room like this, another girl like me, another man like you. Perhaps she slips out of bed, as I’ve done, to stand naked amid the emptiness. Did he make promises like you have? Did she accept them, knowing they were lies, a temporary tenant for her heart?
 
Will she return to bed, as I will, and press herself against his back?

10 Responses to “Blank as the Moon”

  1. steve April 22, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

    sounds like the opening of a book keep going you got about 300 more pages.

    • Barely Pink April 22, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

      Thanks, Steve! I have good news and bad news. The good news is I am working on something in a longer format. The bad news is that if it is published, it will be under my real name.

      • steve April 23, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

        solution to the anonymity problem is to publish under the pen name barel pink. That aways we can find you.

      • Barely Pink April 23, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

        Perhaps for a later thing.

        What I am working on at this moment is more vanilla, and I’d like to be able to share it with my friends and family. I’m not “out” and, for now, plan on keeping this secret for as long as I can.

        I don’t want to tell my mom, “Oh yeah, I’m published. But you can’t read it.” 😛

  2. sonia April 22, 2011 at 8:17 pm #

    Why is that bad news?

    This is good! And I am sure there are other girls like her in the world.

    • Barely Pink April 22, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

      Hi, sonia, and welcome!

      It is only bad news because I won’t be able to share it here, to protect my anonymity. This blog has become a support system, of sorts, and I feel a bit like I’m flying solo.

  3. D April 23, 2011 at 8:04 am #

    Pink, when I see your blank ‘moon’ I get inspired too:

    Now she rises from my arms, where she sleeps, safe from all harms. The bed is left to only me, as she scampers off to pee.

    Padding down the twilight hall,she spies a mirror on the wall. Her own reflection stops her track, she spins around to see her back.

    A look of “Is that really me”? She stops a sec so she can see. Tossled hair upon her head, both her cheeks are glowing red. Breasts have marks made from my teeth, top and sides and underneath.

    “Damn that’s hot”, she lightly swore, then hurried back to get some more.

    • Barely Pink April 23, 2011 at 9:23 am #

      “Damn that’s hot”, she lightly swore, then hurried back to get some more.

      She wrapped her arms around his back. He turned to her and gave a snore.

      😛

  4. Raven Red April 27, 2011 at 4:53 am #

    Eh…that snore comment? Obviously not hot enough for her yet. LOL!

    Loved the post Miss Pink – been there, done it and unfortunately have more than one T-Shirt for it as well…

    Hugs

    Raven

    • Barely Pink April 27, 2011 at 6:47 am #

      Let’s not encourage more “hotness”, Raven. 😉

      I have been in one or two similar situations in anonymous hotel rooms, as well. But I never got a stinkin’ t-shirt!

      Harumph.

Leave a Reply

