Bare Necessities

1 Apr


I’ve been told that all I need to pack for our vacation is a hairbrush.
 
Forget the swimsuit, the cumbersome luggage — just my hairbrush and a man who knows how to use it.
 

I’m going to have the best hair on the beach.
 

27 Responses to “Bare Necessities”

  1. steve April 1, 2011 at 9:31 am #

    I once took a lady on a week long trip with 2 outfits a brush and a crop. Some of the best days of my life. A womans best outfit is her skin. Believe I said that before.

    • Barely Pink April 1, 2011 at 9:38 am #

      It’s definitely a straight-forward approach and I can appreciate its simplicity. There would be little doubt what you had in mind! No questions about it…

      • steve April 1, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

        before you think to poorly of me one of the outfits was a bikini with what I thought was a rather large bottom part. The other a short set that was quite concealing were her choices, as were the brush and crop. I bought her some kind of wrap while we were there. Still she found little use for them. The customs guys found it hard to believe we were going to be there for a week.

      • Barely Pink April 1, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

        Think poorly of you? You’re my freak’n spanking hero!

  2. zelle33406 April 1, 2011 at 10:46 am #

    aaaccckkk! You don’t need a hairbrush in Aruba! The wind blows all the time there… so it is futile to even try to keep your “hair” in line. I personally.. WOULD TAKE, a shoulder bag with a removable ‘strap’ to carry all your toiletries though.

    • Barely Pink April 1, 2011 at 11:09 am #

      What’s funny, Zelle, is that I never really use a hairbrush. It’s too harsh on my curly hair. Any hairbrush I own is purely a spanky one that occasionally gets used when I straighten my hair.

      Yet, I carry one in my purse. 😛

      • zelle33406 April 1, 2011 at 11:28 am #

        I’m REAL persnickety about what “type” of hair brush is planted on my behind! I don’t seem to mind (too much!) those that are more wide – almost of the vinyl or hard plastic variety.. but I can’t take that shape if it’s wood.. nor a narrow oval, or those old fashioned small hair brushes of wood or ivory or some other hard material. I never used to like wood at all.. and interestingly enough, I’ve grown quite fond of some paddles (even hair brush shaped – not narrow though), but they are paddles made by a man named MrZia on Fetlife. I now own 6 of his toys. I have one of his “Zia-thins” that I carry in my purse! It’s short, and thin, and stings like a bitch! LOL – but then, I’m a sting person.. not a thud person.. which will explain a lot. (ROFL) – sorry to ramble!

      • Barely Pink April 1, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

        I hate the narrow headed hairbrushes — they leave bruises far too easily. Actually, truth be told, I’m not a fan of any hairbrush for that reason. Even the plastic ones (we tried it out — something similar to the one you recommended) leave nasty marks without much force applied.

        I don’t know if I like the thud OR the sting. Wait, why am I a spanko again?

  3. Brett April 1, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    That sounds more like a recipe for having the reddest bottom on the beach. But a hairbrush can, in theory, be used on curly hair, and people in the sun often get burned. Nobody needs to think you got a spanking. 😮

    Have a great time, Pink. XO

    • Barely Pink April 1, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

      I’m Whitey McWhiterson. A sunburn on my bottom only will look mighty suspicious! But, hey, I don’t know anyone there!

      Thanks, Brett! I’m sure we’ll have a wonderful time with lots of stories to share. 🙂

  4. Raven Red April 1, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    Now if it was ME, I would take one of those little fold-up hair brushes with. Looking at it even a little bit to intently normally results in a perfectly broken and useless brush.
    But then, that is me. (GRIN)
    Hope you have lots of fun and enjoy!

    • Barely Pink April 1, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

      Haha, that’s a great idea. He didn’t SPECIFY what brush, just a hairbrush.

      Ah, but I might be forgetting that D is never without a belt.

  5. Erica April 1, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    (laughing) So I take it that you’re going to a nude beach? 😀

    I don’t own a hairbrush either; never use ’em. They flatten out my hair, whereas a comb gets the tangles without wrecking the volume. All I have is a drawerful of broken ones that never touched my hair.

    • Barely Pink April 1, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

      When I use a hairbrush, I get a ‘fro, 70s style in the uncool way.

      How do you think this will go over, “I did as you asked, D. Here’s the plastic pick that I use for my hair.”

      🙂

  6. Sierra April 1, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    Oh thatd make my over packing heart go into a panic!! Lol have a great time!

    • Barely Pink April 1, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

      I’m an overpacker, too. The one time I didn’t pack more than I needed, I ended up wearing the craziest outfits and it resulted in a grump-fest. Shoes are the worst. I have no idea what my mood will be on any given day! It might be a high-heeled boot day, or a ballet flat day. One never knows.

      D actually told me: ONE bag. He didn’t say how BIG that bag could be.;)

      • Sierra April 2, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

        Lmao I went on a cruise to Mexico once and had to pay an over the weight fee because of shoes!

  7. dd April 1, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

    Sounds like my idea of packing!

    My original trousseau was a bikini,a sarong and several pairs of knickers (I had no idea where I was going, thought I’d buy as I needed). My mother and BBH panicked and calluded and my carry on purse was swiftly amended to include extra items including Factor 3000 sun tan lotion. Which is why I am the only person to ever to return from Africa looking as paler than I left, well most parts of me 😉

    • Barely Pink April 1, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

      Your nose got pink, right? 😉

      Oh…suntan lotion. Must add that to my luggage. Thanks for reminding me…I’ve got 5 hours to figure out how to get this bag closed.

  8. dd April 1, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

    Absolutely, nose pink, when sun glasses slipped 🙂

  9. steve April 1, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    enjoy your vacation tell us about it when you get back. We’ll iss you.

    • steve April 1, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

      I meant miss you. But I just looked at the title off this entry and realised it must be a subliminal desire to follow my advice.

      • Barely Pink April 1, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

        🙂 No need to miss me. Because I’m a stupid over-achiever and slightly crazy, I have a small post scheduled for each day that I’ll be gone. I just can’t guarantee a timely response (if any) to comments.

        Neither can I guarantee the quality of the posts as they were written in a packing stupor (it took a lot to pack that one hairbrush), but they have pretty pictures.

        I’ll miss you guys, though!

  10. Ronniesoul April 2, 2011 at 6:10 am #

    Enjoy and have fun Pink, look forward to hearing all about it on your return and don’t forget, leave your hairbrush there.

    Love,
    Ronnie
    xx

    • Barely Pink April 4, 2011 at 8:14 am #

      Oh, that’s a good idea! Although…that might encourage him to use my bath brush that’s still at home…He’s always looking for an excuse to haul that thing out. 😛

  11. rustynale2 April 3, 2011 at 8:01 am #

    With all of the packing regulations these days with the airlines, etc., not to mention the cost of taking your own clothing on vacation with you (baggage rates), I think your sweetie’s suggestion is not only exciting, but practical. You’ll never have to explain a brush to a customs agent; nor a spoon – if you’re going to a culinary retreat; a crop – if it’s a dude ranch; a cane – especially if you’re going to a whittling camp … Could be a rather interesting trip.

    Enjoy yourself!

    • Barely Pink April 4, 2011 at 8:15 am #

      That would be awesome to board a plane only carrying a cane. I can see it now!

Leave a Reply

