Mistress of My Bedtime

29 Jan


I am Domme of my decisions and Mistress of my bedtime.
 
I don’t need anyone to tell me when, or how, or yes or no. If I want to eat all of the frosting, I shall. If I want to spend all of my money on that handbag that doubles as a suitcase, I will. If I want to stay up so late that I’m bleary and intolerable the next day, then who is going to stop me?
 
I can have secrets. I am a champion of secrets. Nobody needs to know about that cigarette I sneaked with a coworker in a rare bonding moment — or the meager four hours sleep I got the night before last that had me heading straight for the coffee in the faculty lounge.

When I am by myself, with no one to raise a disapproving brow, I own my actions and consequences. Right?
 
Right.
 
Even if I somehow managed to keep those secrets from him, his barometer for baloney would measure the slightest change in pressure caused by my guilty conscience. Then, his keen interrogation techniques would have me spilling all before he finished his first question.
 
How disappointed would I be if he simply shrugged his shoulders and said, “you can do what you want”, offering no repercussions? I can picture it — me, jumping up and down, waving my arms, yelling, “but look at how I’m treating myself!”

So he, Dom that he is, takes his Mistress-of-her-bedtime over his knee and smacks her bottom red. His intention is not to squash her independence, but to guide her as she makes up her own mind.
 
Yes, I can be Domme of my own destiny — and he’d like me to be. But if I refuse to treat myself respectfully, the Dom of my derriere will strike, and this independent woman will be sleeping on her tummy when 9 o’clock rolls around.
 
Which reminds me…does anybody know what time it is?

33 Responses to “Mistress of My Bedtime”

  1. Zelle January 29, 2011 at 3:21 am #

    Oh my god… LOL .. I so agree! Of course.. I’m “No Domme Blonde” here… LOLOL

    Oh… for the record.. “Who cares what time it is?”

    (heehee – Time to face the music.)

    • Barely Pink January 29, 2011 at 11:07 am #

      And thanks to your comment, at least D will know it was some time before 3:21 am! But who really cares, right? I’m jolly and chipper and no one will be the wiser. 🙂

  2. Hermione January 29, 2011 at 6:08 am #

    Make the right choices like going to sleep in a bed rather than on a side table? I should hope so!

    Hugs,
    Hermione

    • Barely Pink January 29, 2011 at 11:09 am #

      But have you ever slept on a side table before? It’s quite comfy!

      Have a great weekend, Hermione!

  3. Michael January 29, 2011 at 6:29 am #

    Humorous, Pink, but also insightful. A Dom is like a guardrail, we are there to guide and to keep you safely on the road even if that entails you having an ouchy bum. Decisions have consequences, and how sad it would be after you made bad choices the Dom would say “you can do what you want.” That doesn’t benefit you and is actually unfair to you. Such a Dom is no Dom. That is certainly not your D.

    And I may be entirely too serious for this early in the morning. I need coffee.

    • Barely Pink January 29, 2011 at 11:14 am #

      And let’s not forget how much I like getting an ouchy bum. 🙂

      D much prefers, of course, to engage in the fun side of things, but he’s also an excellent guardrail. Very fortunate I am.

      Happy Saturday to you, Michael!

  4. Brett January 29, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    Very interesting, Pink. By nature, I’m not a DOMinant personality. No alpha-dude here. She is the Domme of her own destiny. She makes the rules with regard to her own boundaries, and if we’re far apart on values and priorities, it’s a problem. It’s certainly not that I don’t care about her health and welfare, but “domestic discipline” is my kink and must also be hers to work for us. The kink just happens to provide us with a mechanism to deal with things in both an exciting and constructive way. So if I put her to bed on her tummy for her own good, and I have no problem doing it, I’m assuming the role of a Dom rather than being a Dom. I think compatibility is the key. XO

    • Barely Pink January 29, 2011 at 11:34 am #

      I think it sounds like you’ve found an excellent balance, Brett. One need not be a Dom all of the time, in fact I think it’s rather unrealistic for the long term. (At least for us.) Both people must be responsible for their own welfare, while helping the other. In my case, there is only one who wields the paddle of accountability. And I rather like it that way.

  5. Raven Red January 29, 2011 at 9:21 am #

    Miss Pink,

    Even though I really would like to disagree, I cannot, although I must admit that I am sort of let of the hook where the cigarettes are concerned.

    But fighting with taxi drivers, driving around late at night on my own, and not monitoring my weight and eating habits sort of lands me in hot water every now and again.

    My guilty conscience is something to behold; before he can even ask how are you, I am already spilling my guts.

    The time?
    Erm…I am normally awake 18 hours of the day – which time zone are you referring to?? (GRIN)

    • Barely Pink January 29, 2011 at 11:40 am #

      Good answer! It is always an appropriate time somewhere, right?

      We are fully capable of making the right choices for ourselves; we just need occasional encouragement. 🙂

  6. Anon E. Mouth January 29, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    9’oclock? You are one spoiled brat. If I did what you’re suggesting, I think my Dom might put me to bed at like 6 PM. Without dessert. Of course, he might wake me up early the next morning to give him dessert, but that’s another story. 😉 Seriously, though, what you’re describing sounds like grounding attitude. Eek. You’ve got a generous or passive dom, maybe.

    • Barely Pink January 29, 2011 at 11:45 am #

      Eek! You are such a brat! 😛

      And, yes, D is generous, but definitely no push-over. When it’s called for, he means business! He just doesn’t micro-manage me. I would not want that.

  7. dd January 29, 2011 at 6:29 pm #

    Pink, another great post! I know I love thinking I am in control, I know I love him keeping me in control. Bedtime, hmmm, just had a, ahem, discussion about it!

    Eek, everyone has their own repercussions within ttwd, I think it is recognised that no-one is right or wrong as long as it is ssc. We each have our own rules and way of life, my BBH recognises that to put me to bed too early would leave me pacing the house in the early hours and unable to function the next day.

    Raven, I also have an amnesty on smoking, we’ve spent the last few months getting me off meds and would rather work on that (doesn’t mean he likes it tho’) 🙂

    • Barely Pink January 29, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

      Of all the acronyms around here, I am confused…what does BBH mean, dd? I have some guesses (all end with husband) but can’t be sure. 🙂

      It’s great that he shows flexibility in the rule-making. It seems that no matter the definitions of the relationship, flexibility and understanding are musts.

      I don’t smoke — D disapproves. Says it’s unhealthy or some such nonsense. Crazy man. 😛

  8. Libby January 29, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    Pink, this is just brilliant, and completely captures the dynamic power exchange. Hope you don’t mind that I’m reblogging this!

    xoox
    Libby

    • Barely Pink January 29, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

      Oh, thanks, Libby! I’d be absolutely honored.

  9. dd January 29, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    Pink, smoking is unhealthy, but the drugs I was on stopped me being me.

    BBH stands for Bossy Beloved Husband (or occasionally Best…), hope that helps!

    Sorry about the acronyms, I used to have to google like mad to keep up, but didn’t want to come down too hard on Miss Eek!

    • Barely Pink January 29, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

      LOL…No worries about Miss Eek! I actually know her and she is doing her bratty best to get D to be more strict with me. She means well — she has my bottom’s best interests at heart (although my bottom may disagree). 🙂

      And, believe me dd, despite the adverse health reactions to smoking, I still miss it. Intensely. I cannot imagine trying to give it up along with experiencing other side effects. I wish you a full and speedy recovery from whatever ails you. Big hugs!

  10. dd January 29, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

    Glad you know Miss Eek, I thought it was poor, misused Raven she was talking about. Now I know it’s you, I have no worries! 🙂

    I am off all prozacky drugs now, thanks to BBH’s cure, tough love, but worth it. I feel more alive than I have done in 8 years – it’s great. He loves it too.

  11. D January 29, 2011 at 11:49 pm #

    Pink, You’re a bit of a brat sometimes, a cute brat though.
    It’s nice to see that when the brat comes out it doesn’t affect your ability to write a provocative post.

    • Barely Pink January 30, 2011 at 12:55 am #

      Heh heh, you called me cute. I’m going to remind you of how cute I am the next time I exasperate you.

  12. Jon January 30, 2011 at 8:14 am #

    There should have been a time stamp on this post… Very good post though Pink, “barometer for baloney”. Love it haha. I’m also sure it excites you to no end to be interrogated like that too.

    • Barely Pink January 30, 2011 at 10:54 am #

      Ha…It was sometime between midnight and 3:21 am. I think, for sure, it was at 12:01. Almost positive. I swear. Let’s just call it that and say we’re good.

      And me, excited by D’s tactical questioning? You betcha!

  13. dd January 30, 2011 at 11:53 am #

    I’m sure it was around 12.02, just as I was saying good night…oops! just remembered we’re on different time zones, that’s not going to get either of us out of a hole!

  14. Tiffany Scarlet January 31, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    Hi Pink,
    Such wonderful prose about the ebb and flow between independence and submission. Sir is my safety net too. Whenever I go too far afield, he reels me in. Like you, I compulsively enjoy flexing my adventuresome reflexes with predictable consequences for my bottom. Withholding information and then spilling my guts helps me clean the slate once again. You are my spanking heroine who constantly inspires me!
    xoxo!!

    • Barely Pink January 31, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

      “…the ebb and flow between independence and submission.”

      You totally nailed it, Tiffany. And you are incredibly sweet for saying such wonderful things. Readers and bloggers like you make writing rewarding. Thank you.

  15. C February 14, 2011 at 1:16 am #

    Pink, I am baffled by the fact that I have been searching for 5 years for a blog like this and I’ve just now found it. Where have you been hiding? It’s as if you took the thoughts out of my head and beautifully wrote them. Thank you.

    • Barely Pink February 14, 2011 at 11:43 am #

      C, I am so flattered that I am able to provide something you’ve been looking for. Thank you for looking and for telling me this. It makes me go all gooey, knowing that my words matter.

      I hope to see more of you!

  16. C April 9, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

    I had to come back and read this. I love it. It should win an award. The “Gives C the biggest smile EVER” Award.

    xoxoxo

    • Barely Pink April 9, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

      I think this was the post that inspired you to start commenting, wasn’t it? Anyway, I’m so happy to have you here and thrilled that this resonated with you.

  17. college basketball championship 2016 April 26, 2017 at 6:42 pm #

    Do you think your submit will help anybody? Your opinions are idealized and they are
    often utilised in our society, at the least now! http://bit.ly/2jwTVfq

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. (In)dependence « The Pink Report - July 4, 2011

    […] myself.   in·de·pen·dent   1. Not governed by a foreign power; self-governing: I am Mistress of my bedtime. I can do what I want.   2. Free from the influence, guidance, or control of another or […]

Leave a Reply

