All I Hear is Music

21 Jan

“Come here, young lady,” you say, while patting your knees.
 
All I hear is music, a steady rhythm that pulsates through my veins. It is a tune I recognize, a wistful plucking as the melody begins, and my body hums along.
 
Your hand lands against my cheeks.
 
As the pain begins to register, we start to sing the chorus: how sweet the sound.
 
I now am found, and my body sings along.
 
You attach my hands to the bed.
 

I am anchored here, watching you remove your belt. Our eyes lock before you begin, my heart skipping in a moment of fear, before I give myself over to the beat once again. We climb to our crescendo.
 
I know this song; I know no fear.
 
Around my eyes you tie a strip of fabric.
 
I am blind, but now I see. I do not need light to feel your grace; I do not need eyes to hear our song. In the darkness, I rise and fall with your fingers as they strum the decrescendo, the colors still vivid and strong in the lingering silence.
 
I am safe. You lead me home.

 

16 Responses to “All I Hear is Music”

  1. Gern Blandershphelt January 21, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

    The grace of your prose is no less amazing than that of John Newton himself. In the time I’ve known you I’ve watched you come through many dangers, toils, and snares. I have no doubt that your grace will lead you safely home.

    • Barely Pink January 22, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

      I’m pretty sure I don’t have anything on John Newton, but I definitely appreciate the sentiment! You have seen me through a lot, haven’t you, Gern? Thanks for your confidence in my ability to get out of toils and snares. And, of course, thanks for your friendship! 🙂

  2. Zelle January 21, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

    AND THIS… is why I love you to pieces!

    Man.. it’s like you snatched the words right outta my head.. I can ..name that tune.. in 3 notes.. (sometimes only ONE! LOL)

    You rock! Such a mind you have.. ♥ it!!

    • Barely Pink January 22, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

      Awww…you hear music, too? I love it because it drowns out the other voices in my head. 😛

      Thanks, Zelle, you really say the best things!! And I love you to pieces, too!

  3. Michael January 22, 2011 at 12:32 am #

    Such amazing imagery, such amazing prose, such amazing power, such an amazing woman, such an amazing man, such an amazing couple. Simply amazing.

    • Barely Pink January 22, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

      Wow. Thanks, Michael! You seemed to have left everyone speechless, including me. Thank you, thank you! 🙂

      Incidentally, I’ve missed you & Season this week. My computer is finally fixed….YEY! I’ll be hanging around again soon (when I get home from D’s). 🙂

  4. Raven Red January 22, 2011 at 3:33 am #

    Miss Pink…Wow…and all that Michael said…I have no words…

    • Barely Pink January 22, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

      I love it when I rob such a wonderfully articulate woman like you of her words. 🙂 Means a lot; thank you, Raven.

  5. Anonymous January 22, 2011 at 10:16 am #

    That was amazing Pink. Michael said it all.

    Love,
    Ronnie
    xx

    • Barely Pink January 22, 2011 at 4:15 pm #

      Yeah, that Michael sure does talk a lot, doesn’t he? 😉

      Ha, kidding Michael!

      Thanks, Ronnie, & I hope you have a great weekend!

  6. dd January 22, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

    No,Pink, you said it for all of us…x

    • Barely Pink January 23, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

      Thanks, dd! Great to have you back here!

  7. Pandora January 23, 2011 at 6:25 am #

    I don’t hear music (perhaps drumming) but these lyrics, this post, so perfectly expresses that joyful contentment, that absence of fear, that comes from playing this familiar, lovely song together. I don’t hear music, but the metaphor fits just as well.

    • Barely Pink January 23, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

      Hey, Pandora! I’m thrilled to have you here!

      Even in the uncertainty in some of our scenes, there is a serenity in knowing the familiar tune that exists between us. The uncertainty, for me, just adds some unexpected and much needed drum beats. 🙂

  8. Brett January 24, 2011 at 7:15 am #

    Yes, amazing is a word that comes to mind. You have a way about finding the right words. XO

    • Barely Pink January 24, 2011 at 9:42 am #

      Thanks so much, Brett. I do not know, yet, how to express my gratitude for words like yours and others’. But I feel it. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

