Taking the Direct Approach

18 Dec


 

This is clearly a case when judging a book by its cover is well called for.
 
I think I like that Suzanne Dale.
 
Original scan by Zille Defeu whose post illustrates that judging a book by its cover is still bad form.

18 Responses to “Taking the Direct Approach”

  1. Michael December 18, 2010 at 9:00 am #

    The author summed up the entire plot in the book title.

    I was coming of age in the ’70s and wish I had known about Suzanne Dale’s books.

    Nice find, Pink.

    • Barely Pink December 18, 2010 at 9:12 am #

      There must be some crazy plot twists. Like, he spanks her and she DOESN’T come. There’s gotta be a surprise in there somewhere! 😉

      I used to scour mainstream romance novels for spanking scenes. I hit the jackpot a couple of times and those books remain on my bookshelf to this day. I can’t imagine what my coming-to-age self would have done with a book like this.

      Hmmm…yes, I can imagine it.

  2. Ronniesoul December 18, 2010 at 11:51 am #

    Michael’s certainly right Pink. Never heard of Suzanne Dale books.

    Have a good weekend Pink,

    Love,
    Ronnie
    xx

    • Barely Pink December 18, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

      I really hadn’t either, Ronnie, until I stumbled on this book cover months back. AND it color coordinates with my blog, an all too important consideration when picking out material. 😉

      Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend!

      Hugs,

      Pink

  3. Season December 18, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

    Ditto on growing up in the 70’s and I would have fainted dead away if I had seen that book cover back then! The neighbor lady used to read those Harlequin romance books and would give them to my mom when she was done. I got my hands on them and from time to time I’d come across a spanking scene. Delightful startles!

    • Barely Pink December 18, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

      Yes!

      Many of my books open automatically to those salacious parts, betraying my obsessive attention to those few details. They never really said enough, but it certainly added fuel to my fantasies, cementing my spankohood for life. 🙂

      We were such spanking detectives.

  4. Libby December 18, 2010 at 7:58 pm #

    Pink, Love, you never cease to amaze me. Thank you for being your crazy, gorgeous self.

    xoxo
    Libby

    • Barely Pink December 18, 2010 at 9:13 pm #

      And thank you for being entertained by my random ramblings! 🙂

      Hugs,

      Pink

    • Barely Pink December 18, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

      Hi, Audrey! I particularly like the couple in the background.

  5. Raven Red December 19, 2010 at 2:14 am #

    Got a couple of those well thumbed novels myself..and this being South Africa, the Central Station for Conservatism, never heard about the books either…but oh SO, going to look for them.
    Uncle Nick introduced me to the three books that Anne Rice wrote about Sleeping Beauty…oh my..

    Hugs

    Raven

    • Barely Pink December 19, 2010 at 10:31 am #

      Oh, yes. Those Anne Rice books are a fantastical treat, aren’t they? Exquisite and a touch horrible at once.

      I had the series but sold it before I moved. I was afraid that my army of friends and family would discover them in the moving process.

      Hugs,

      Pink

  6. Hermione December 19, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    So tell us: did she come?

    I wish I had known about those books too, but then, they probably would not have been allowed into Canada. Sigh.

    Hugs,
    Hermione

    • Barely Pink December 19, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

      Is Canada that restrictive? I had no idea.

      I download a lot of my reading. I’m currently revisiting (in addition to a book of value) a Johanna Lindsey book, “Once a Princess”. A few of your past posts inspired me to look for spanking passages in her writing. And I wasn’t disappointed! I struck gold. 🙂

  7. Dave December 19, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    Yes, you know, this naughty cover certainly does match quite nicely with your pink/argyle background. I say, bravo! :-))

    xox,
    Dave

  8. Barely Pink December 19, 2010 at 10:23 pm #

    Right?

    I unwittingly matched this blog’s color scheme to a 70s kink novel. Rock on. 🙂

  9. Dr. Spanks January 2, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

    Thank-you for providing me with a taste of spanking nostalgia. Love your blog!

  10. Barely Pink January 3, 2011 at 11:02 am #

    Thanks, Dr. Spanks. Happy to have you here!

Leave a Reply

