Fantasy: rewritten

5 Dec

We imagine perfection. The scripts are fluid. A calculated silence fills all of the right places. Each move and response combine in a well choreographed performance art piece to be replayed on a loop by our imaginations.
 
Things fit, just so, and are stamped indelibly on our conscious as an example of what could be. These are the things we most often write about, the fantasies that whet our appetite while wetting our gussets.
 

 
And then there are those other times — when maneuvers are, at best, sloppy. Pants stick to hips on the downward slide. A forehead is banged on an end table. We lose our script partway through and erupt into giggles, each trying to remember the next line.
 
These moments are written as memories. These are the moments that we do not want to lose, the moments when our fantasies converge to give us our realities filled with delectable and unique imperfection.
 
In my fantasies, there wasn’t an ‘us’. There were characters with prescribed personalities and body shapes, one-dimensional beings. In my fantasies, the intent wasn’t to connect, wasn’t to understand one another, but to fulfill my desires at the most base physical level.


Although fantasies still serve their purposes, I can no longer do without ‘us’. There must be a ‘you’ and a ‘me’ written into the script.
 
When it is time to turn out the lights and be quiet, my recent memories blanket me as my fingers travel where they are tempted to go.
 
My fantasies are rewritten every night that I call you mine.

6 Responses to “Fantasy: rewritten”

  1. Michael December 5, 2010 at 11:36 pm #

    So wonderful, Pink and so wonderfully written. Love this sentiment – “These are the moments that we do not want to lose, the moments when our fantasies converge to give us our realities filled with delectable and unique imperfection.”

    We are very similar in that when I was younger my fantasies included one-dimensional body shapes and no “us,” never an “us.” Now there is always an “us,” always that special “us.” always me and my Season.

    • Barely Pink December 6, 2010 at 9:28 am #

      Fantastic! You and Season are super fortunate to have stumbled across each other on Dev’s blog. 🙂

  2. D December 6, 2010 at 9:06 am #

    Pink, I enjoy being the ‘man of your dreams’, a cherished position that you never allowed others to own. Thank you!

    • Barely Pink December 6, 2010 at 9:30 am #

      It’s well earned.

      I’m a woman of few words this morning. Terrible headache. But I’m smiling.

  3. Raven Red December 7, 2010 at 3:23 pm #

    “Although fantasies still serve their purposes, I can no longer do without ‘us’. There must be a ‘you’ and a ‘me’ written into the script.”

    Miss Pink, more truer words I cannot find.

    Hugs

    Raveb

    • Barely Pink December 7, 2010 at 9:46 pm #

      🙂

      Hugs you. You’ll find a way there, Raven.

Leave a Reply

