A simple question

24 Aug
“Where did you two meet?” she asked as we nibbled on sweet corn at the barbecue.

I cast a look at D, who was thoughtfully staring anywhere but in the direction of his very close relative, and nudged him under the table.

Clearly I would have to answer. Boy, he has a lot of faith in my discretion.

“Online,” I said, uncharacteristically brief. “Spankfinder,” I thought.

Please don’t ask what we did on our first date. Please don’t ask; please don’t ask. If she asks, just talk about dinner. Dinner. That was it. Stick to that. Dinner and…shit, don’t think about that. Dinner. End. Of. Story.

8 Responses to “A simple question”

  1. HEDONE August 24, 2010 at 6:30 am #

    🙂

  2. Dioneo August 24, 2010 at 7:28 am #

    Ha! You should have said "quilting convention" and let him explain from there.

  3. Bumtickler August 24, 2010 at 8:53 am #

    Liar, liar, pants (or at least the seat of) on fire.Quick thinking, though.

  4. Command August 24, 2010 at 10:13 am #

    To say we met online is accurate and true. To give the name of the website crosses the boundaries of personal discretion. We live and work in a vanilla world and our personal kinks are, well, personal. The important thing to the person asking the question wasn't nosy curiosity as much as uncovering the roots of a relationship that was obviously solid and mutually rewarding. My favorite question of the night was: You two move together as one, how many years have you been together?

  5. barely.pink August 24, 2010 at 11:43 am #

    H: :)Dioneo: I think people would be less shocked to find out about D's special kink than an affinity for quilting. But that's a pretty good answer, perhaps for next time.BT: Connections are hard to explain. And I always fear that my inner gears will betray me with a blush. D: You always do end your lectures on a sweet note, don't you? And how very astute of that person to recognize that in us. That bit makes me smile.

  6. Erica August 24, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

    Whenever people ask me how my bf and I met, I simply say, "A personals ad." Quite true; I just don't mention what kind of ad it was. 🙂

  7. barely.pink August 24, 2010 at 1:46 pm #

    Erica, yes…a simple question deserves a simple answer. I'm programmed now to immediately think of "our" kind of personals site when I hear that response. Is there any other kind? 🙂

  8. Celine August 25, 2010 at 12:03 am #

    This IS a hard question, isn't it. Damn people with their damn curiosity 😉 I HATE when people ask this, even though they're not doing a thing wrong by asking. You handled it well, I think. Celine

Leave a Reply

